News and Notes About the AHCA AHCA History Special Features Member's Only  
February 13, 2002
Six Are Honored By Nation's Amateur Hockey Coaches

Six contributors to amateur hockey in the United States have been honored with major annual awards presented by the American Hockey Coaches Association. The 2002 honorees are:

Steve Cady, Miami University: The Jim Fullerton Award

Cady started a club hockey program at Miami and turned it into a challenging program at the NCAA Division I level. After coaching from 1976- 1985, Cady stayed on in Oxford, OH, serving as an administrator who helped bring the 1996 NCAA Frozen Four to Cincinnati. He also served four years on the NCAA Ice Hockey Rules Committee. Currently, Steve is Associate Athletic Director and Coordinator of Ice Hockey at Miami.

The Fullerton Award is given to a special contributor to ice hockey - coach, fan, journalist, official - who captures the pure love of the game exemplified by the former Brown University head coach.

Ed Saugestad, Augsburg College: The John Maclnnes Award

Saugestad coached Augsburg to 503 wins in a career that spanned 37 seasons (1958-1996.) The Minnesota Intercollegiato Athletic Conference named the MlAC Hockey Tournament Trophy in his honor in 1998, a year in which, fittingly, Augsburg took home the trophy. His win total is second only to Don Roberts of Gustavus Adolphus (515) among Division Ill coaches.

Saugestad took teams to post-season play on ten occasions {nine NAIA and one NCAA), winning national championships (NAIA) three times. He was named NAIA National Coach of the Year after each of those championships and was MlAC Coach of the Year six times. He coached 22 All-Americans at Augsburg.

The Maclnnes Award is named in honor of the former Michigan Tech head coach and recognizes exceptional success with athletes on and off the ice.

Kevin Houle, Plattsburgh: The Terry Flanagan Award

The Flanagan Award, named after former Bowling Green assistant coach Terry Flanagan, recognizes a career body of work from an assistant coach. Kevin Houle has spent 13 yean at Plattsburgh, the first five doing full-time work on part-time compensation. He has displayed outstanding loyalty in staying at one institution for the entire 13 years, despite opportunities to pursue head coaching positions.

Durlng Houle's tenure, Plattsburgh has compiled a record of 304-87-27 (.760) and made nine NCAA Tournament appearances, winning the title twice. Houle has helped recruit 36 players who have gone on to play professional hockey, eight All-Americans, five SUNYAC Players of the Year and six SUNYAC Rookies of the Year.

Bette Blair, USA Hockey: The Joe Burke Award

Joe Burke is perhaps the number one fan in women's ice hockey. As a uniquely avid supporter of girls and women's hockey, Joe Burke flnds his name on the award that recognizes others who contribute to the game.

Bette Blair is one of those contributors. Bette, of Blalne, MN, recently retired after ten years serving as counselor for USA Hockey Development Camps. She also served the college game directly as a team host at the national championships held at Mariucci Arena in Minneapolis In 1999.

Gary Dineen, Sprlngfield 'Pics/N.E. Coyotes: The John "Snooks" Kelley Founders Award

Gary Dineen has dlrected one of the nation's most successful and influential junior hockey programs since 1973. In that time, more than 300 of his players have gone to college hockey, receiving approximately five million dollars in athletic scholarships. Among this group of athletes are 29 NHL draftees, including NHL All-star and US. Olympian Bill Guerln. Currently, 31 of hls alumni are playing college hockey In 2001-02.

If these efforts weren't enough, Dineen also runs one of the most highly respected summer hockey programs, lauded for his emphasis on skill development. More than 22,000 students have attended over the past 20 years.

The award recognizes an individual who has contributed specifically to the growth of US. hockey interests and is named after former Boston College coach John "Snooks" Kelley.

Lou Cotroneo, St. Paul (MN) Johnson High School: The John Mariucci Award

This award, named for the legendary Minnesota player and coach, recognizes a high school coach. Lou Cotroneo is the fifth such coach to be honored from the state that gave us the "Godfather of Minnesota Hockey," John Mariucci.

Cotroneo was a teacher/coach at St. Paul Johnson from 1954-1975 and later sewed Humboldt High School as an administrative assistant. His coaching record was 199-59-8, including seven appearances In the prestigious Minnesota State High School Tournament. Cotroneo also spent three decades as a referee at all levels (high school, college, professional.) On many occasions, he has also served as a volunteer at conference and national championships in the Twin Cities area.

The St. John's University graduate currently serves as a mayoral liaison for the City of St. Paul, host of this year's NCAA Division I Men's Ice Hockey Championships.

All award winners will be honored at the annual AHCA Coach of the Year Banquet, Saturday. April 27, at the Naples Beach Hotel and Golf Club In Naples, FL.

      © American Hockey Coaches Association - All Rights Reserved.