News and Notes About the AHCA AHCA History Special Features Member's Only  
March 20, 2008
Laura Hurd Award Winner Competing This Weekend On Home Ice
(Download release in PDF Format)

Hurd AwardThree-time All American forward Danielle Blanchard of Plattsburgh State has been chosen by the nation's coaches as the 2008 winner of the Laura Hurd Award, symbolic of the nation's best Division III women's hockey player. Blanchard, a junior from Newmarket, Ontario, will take the ice this weekend at the NCAA Division III Women's Championships hosted by Plattsburgh.

Blanchard compiled 27 goals and 19 assists for 46 points in 25 games this season for Plattsburgh. She was a prime reason for Plattsburgh's 23-3-1 record and its ECAC West championship. She was named a first team All American for the second straight year after being chosen on the second team as a freshman in 2006. She was also the ECAC West Player of the Year. Over her three-year career, Blanchard has recorded 72-66-138 in 84 games.

Said Plattsburgh head coach Kevin Houle, “Danielle’s skill level is unquestionable. But what separates her from most is her work ethic and competitiveness. Danielle is our most dedicated and hardest working player. She gives 100% everyday on ice and off. She has an overwhelming yet humble desire to be the best. She is obviously our best player but has absolutely no ego and seems humble towards any recognition she receives, always putting her linemates and teammates ahead of herself. Her teammates respect and look up to her, amazed at her abilities, and her leadership.”

The award is named in honor of former Elmira College star Laura Hurd who died in a car accident shortly after graduation. Hurd was a four-time All-American who led Elmira to victory in the first NCAA Division III Women’s Hockey Championships. Ironocally, Elmira will be Plattsburgh’s opponent on Thursday evening in one of the NACA semifinal games.

Runners-up for the 2008 Laura Hurd Award were Gina Barzanelli, a senior forward from the University of Wisconsin-Superior and Kelsey Johnson, a junior forward from Saint Anselm College. The actual award will be presented at a later date as the American Hockey Coaches Association, in conjunction with Elmira College, is finalizing the production of the permanent award (see above right).

Winners of the Laura Hurd Award
AHCA Women’s Ice Hockey College Player of the Year
2000 Sylvia Ryan Middlebury Forward
2001 Michelle Labbe Middlebury Forward
2002 Sarah Moe Gustavus Adolphus Forward
2003 Angela Kapus Middlebury Forward/Defense
2004 Molly Wasserman Williams Forward
2005 Laura Hurd Elmira Forward
2006 Emily Quizon Middlebury Forward
2007 Andrea Peterson Gustavus Adolphus Defense
2008 Danielle Blanchard Plattsburgh Forward


      © American Hockey Coaches Association - All Rights Reserved.