News and Notes About the AHCA AHCA History Special Features Member's Only  
April 14, 2009
Will Receive Spencer Penrose Award at AHCA Convention on April 25 in Naples, FL
(Download release in PDF Format)

Jack ParkerFor his efforts in leading the Terriers of Boston University to this yearís NCAA Division I Menís Championship, Jack Parker of Boston University has been chosen winner of the 2009 Spencer Penrose Award as Division I Menís Coach of the Year. Boston University went 35-6-4, winning the national title in dramatic fashion last Saturday night in Washington, DC. Trailing by 3-1, with just over a minute remaining in regulation, the Terriers struck twice within 42 seconds to tie the game, the latter goal coming with 18 seconds to play. The game-winner came at 11:47 of overtime, giving Parker his third NCAA crown and the schoolís fifth.

It was a dream season for a storied program as the Terriers won a total of seven championships in 2008-2009: Ice Breaker Tournament, Denver Cup, Beanpot Tournament, Hockey East Regular Season, Hockey East Tournament, NCAA Northeast Regionals, and NCAA Championships. This is the third national Coach of the Year award for Parker (1975, 1978), who has compiled a career mark of 816-412-101 in 36 seasons at BU. His 816 wins rank him third all-time among all NCAA coaches, behind Ron Mason of Michigan State (924) and Jerry York of Boston College (821). His total of 816 wins at the same institution is an NCAA record.

The 2008-09 Terriers had lofty goals and met each one of them. Among the milestones were Parkerís 800th win (4-1 win at Merrimack on January 16) and his record 23rd NCAA appearance. This honor follows the announcement that his senior defenseman, Matt Gilroy, won the 2009 Hobey Baker Award as college hockeyís top player and his freshman goalie, Kieran Millan, was selected as the National Rookie of the Year.

A native of Somerville, Massachusetts, Parker excelled as a player at Catholic Memorial High School and later at Boston University, serving as team captain his senior year (1967-68). He started his coaching career at Medford High School right out of college, came to BU as an assistant for four seasons and was named varsity coach in December of 1973. This season marked his 40th as a member of the BU staff.

Assisting Parker this season were two of his former players, Associate Head Coach David Quinn and Assistant Coach Mike Bavis. Serving as Goaltending Coach was former UMass-Lowell standout Mike Geragosian. In addition to his coaching duties, Parker holds the title of Executive Director of Athletics at BU.

The runners-up for this yearís AHCA Menís Division I Coach of the Year award were Tom Serratore of Bemidji State University and Keith Allain of Yale University.

The Spencer Penrose Award is named in memory of the Colorado Springs benefactor who built the Broadmoor Hotel Complex, site of the first ten NCAA championship hockey tournaments. It will be presented at the AHCA Coach of the Year Banquet in Naples, Florida, on Saturday evening, April 25.


Winners of the Spencer Penrose Award
(Division I Coach of the Year)
1951 Edward Jeremiah, Dartmouth   1981 Bill O'Flaherty, Clarkson
1952 Cheddy Thompson, Colorado College   1982 Ferny Flaman, Northeastern
1953 John Mariucci, Minnesota   1983 Bill Cleary, Harvard
1954 Vic Heyliger, Michigan   1984 Mike Sertich, Minnesota-Duluth
1955 Ralph "Cooney" Weiland, Harvard   1985 Len Ceglarski, Boston College
1956 William Harrison, Clarkson   1986 Ralph Backstrom, Denver
1957 Jack Riley, Army   1987 John "Gino" Gasparini, North Dakota
1958 Harry Cleverly, Boston University   1988 Frank Anzalone, Lake Superior
1959 John "Snooks" Kelley, Boston College   1989 Joe Marsh, St. Lawrence
1960 Jack Riley, Army   1990 Terry Slater, Colgate
1961 Murray Armstrong, Denver   1991 Rick Comley, Northern Michigan
1962 Jack Kelley, Colby   1992 Ron Mason, Michigan State
1963 Tony Frasca, Colorado College   1993 George Gwozdecky, Miami
1964 Tom Eccleston, Jr., Providence   1994 Don Lucia, Colorado College
1965 Jim Fullerton, Brown   1995 Shawn Walsh, Maine
1966 Amo Bessone, Michigan State
Len Ceglarski, Clarkson
  1996 Bruce Crowder, UMass Lowell
1967 Edward Jeremiah, Dartmouth   1997 Dean Blais, North Dakota
1968 Ned Harkness, Cornell   1998 Tim Taylor, Yale
1969 Charlie Holt, New Hampshire   1999 Richard Umile, New Hampshire
1970 John Maclnnes, Michigan Tech   2000 Joe Marsh, St. Lawrence
1971 Ralph "Cooney" Weiland, Harvard   2001 Dean Blais, North Dakota
1972 John "Snooks" Kelley, Boston College   2002 Tim Whitehead, Maine
1973 Len Ceglarski, Boston College   2003 Bob Daniels, Ferris State
1974 Charlie Holt, New Hampshire   2004 Scott Sandelin, Minnesota-Duluth
1975 Jack Parker, Boston University   2005 George Gwozdecky, Denver
1976 John Maclnnes, Michigan Tech   2006 Enrico Blasi, Miami
1977 Jerry York, Clarkson   2007 Jeff Jackson, Notre Dame
1978 Jack Parker, Boston University   2008 Red Berenson, Michigan
1979 Charlie Holt, New Hampshire   2009 Jack Parker, Boston University
1980 Rick Comley, Northern Michigan      

      © American Hockey Coaches Association - All Rights Reserved.