News and Notes About the AHCA AHCA History Special Features Member's Only  
March 18, 2010
Sid Watson Award Winner is First from Gustavus Adolphus College
(Download release in PDF Format)

Senior forward David Martinson of Gustavus Adolphus College has been chosen by the nation's coaches as the 2010 winner of the Sid Watson Award Award, symbolic of the nation's best Division III men's hockey player. The 6-0, 190-pound native of St. Louis Park, MN, helped the Gusties to a 20-7-2 record, finishing the season with a 3-1 quarterfinal loss to St. Norbert last week.

Martinson, the Player of the Year in the Minnesota Intercollegiate Athletic Conference (MIAC), earned first team All-American status this season after leading the MIAC in scoring thisseason. nationally, he led the NCAA with 1.04 goals per game. His career marks: 76-57-133 in 102 career contests. Said Gustavus head coach Brett Petersen, “David is an outstanding person and an outstanding hockey player. He is our leader on and off the ice. He gets more out of his teammates than any other player I have coached at Gustavus.”

The award is named in honor of former Bowdoin College head coach Sid Watson, a three-time winner of the Edward Jeremiah Award as Division III Coach of the Year. Watson won 326 at Bowdoin in a career that spanned from 1959 to 1983. He was also the school’s athletic director.

The runner-up for the 2010 Sid Watson Award was Eric Selleck, a sophomore forward from SUNY Oswego.

Winners of the Sid Watson Award
AHCA Men’s Ice Hockey College Player of the Year
1993 Frank Cirone Wisconsin-Stevens Point Forward
1994 Ray Alcindor Middlebury Forward
1995 Charlie Gaffney Bowdoin Forward
1996 Ian Smith Middlebury Defense
1997 Steve Toll RIT Forward
1998 Mark Spence Middlebury Forward
1999 Rob Smillie St. Norbert Forward
2000 Steve Aronson St. Thomas Forward
2001 Keith Aucoin Norwich Forward
2002 Jerry Galway RIT Defense
2003 Maris Ziedins St. Norbert Forward
2004 Kevin Cooper Middlebury Forward
2005 Kurtis McLean Norwich Forward
2006 Adam Hanna St. John's Goalie
2007 Andrew Gallant Manhattanville Goalie
2008 Kyle Jones St. Norbert Goalie
2009 Jeff Landers Amherst Defense
2010 David Martinson Gustavus Adolphus Forward


      © American Hockey Coaches Association - All Rights Reserved.