News and Notes About the AHCA AHCA History Special Features Member's Only  
March 24, 2010
Edward Jeremiah Award to be Presented on May 1 in Naples, FL
(Download release in PDF Format)

photoMike McShane, who led Norwich University to a 25-1-4 record and the school’s third NCAA Division III Men’s Ice Hockey National Championship, has been named the 42nd recipient of the Edward Jeremiah Award, given annually to the Men’s Division III Ice Hockey Coach of the Year. For McShane, the recognition marks the fourth time he has been so honored, tying Middlebury’s Bill Beaney for the most such awards.

Norwich Hockey celebrated its 100th season in 2009-10 and it couldn’t have had a better ending. In defeating St. Norbert College, 2-1 in double overtime, the Cadets scored the winning goal in the 100th minute of the game in their 100th season.

This past season, McShane guided the Cadets to their eighth Final Four appearance in 15 years behind the NU bench. He led a young team that won just 13 games last year to the national title, the ECAC East regular season title and the ECAC East tournament title. McShane, who was selected as the ECAC East “Coach of the Year” for the third season in a row, completed his tenth 20-win season since arriving at Norwich. His career record at Norwich is 318-90-21 and his overall record, including stints at Providence College and St.Lawrence University, is 563-308-52.

McShane, a native of Wakefield, MA, played college hockey at the University of New Hampshire for Charlie Holt, graduating in 1971 as the third leading scorer in Wildcat history. Before becoming a head coach in the college ranks, he was a prep school coach at the New Hampton School and also served as an assistant coach at Dartmouth College.

This season, McShane was assisted by Steve Mattson and Cory Gustafson.

The Edward Jeremiah Award is named in honor of the great Dartmouth College head coach and was first presented in 1970. The runners-up for this year’s Edward Jeremiah Award were Ed Gosek of SUNY Oswego and Tim Coghlin of St. Norbert College. Both were past winners of the award.

The Coach of the Year Awards are chosen by members of the American Hockey Coaches Association (AHCA). Winners will receive their awards at the annual AHCA Celebratuon of Men’s Ice Hockey Banquet, held in conjunction with the AHCA Convention in Naples, FL. This year’s banquet is scheduled for Saturday, May 1.


Winners of the Edward Jeremiah Award
( Division Coach of the Year)
1970 Sid Watson, Bowdoin   1990 Bill Beaney, Middlebury
1971 Sid Watson, Bowdoin   1991 Glenn Thomaris, Elmira
1972 Jack Canniff, Massachusetts   1992 Bruce Marshall, Connecticut
1973 Jim Cross, Vermont   1993 Joe Baldarotta, WI-Stevens Point
1974 Barry Urbanski, Boston State   1994 Jeff Meredith, Fredonia
1975 Wendall Forbes, Middlebury   1995 Bill Beaney, Middlebury
1976 Don Roberts, Gustavus Adolphus   1996 Dean Talafous, WI-River Falls
1977 Bill Riley, Jr., Lowell   1997 Mike McShane, Norwich
1978 Sid Watson, Bowdoin   1998 Mike Schwartz, Augsburg
1979 Don Brose, Mankato State   1999 Mike McShane, Norwich
1980 Steve Stirling, Babson   2000 Mike McShane, Norwich
1981 Herb Hammond, Plattsburgh State   2001 Wayne Wilson, RIT
1982 Steve Stirling, Babson   2002 Dan Stauber, WI-Superior
1983 Mike Gibbons, Bemidji State   2003 George Roll, Oswego State
  Peter Van Buskirk, Holy Cross   2004 Bill Beaney, Middlebury
1984 Bob Peters, Bemidji State   2005 Terry Skrypek, St. Thomas
1985 Rob Riley, Babson   2006 Bill Beaney, Middlebury
1986 Terry Meagher, Bowdoin   2007 Ed Gosek, Oswego State
1987 Tony Mariano, Norwich   2008 Tim Coghlin, St. Norbert College
1988 Glenn Thomaris, Elmira   2009 Dominick Dawes, Neumann College
1989 Terry Meagher, Bowdoin   2000 Mike McShane, Norwich

      © American Hockey Coaches Association - All Rights Reserved.