News and Notes About the AHCA AHCA History Special Features Member's Only  
March 24, 2010
(Download release in PDF Format)

photoFor his efforts in leading Cornell University to its first regular season and tournament ECAC Hockey titles, Doug Derraugh has been named by his peers as the AHCA Women’s Division I Coach of the Year for 2009-10. The Big Red compiled a record of 21-9-6 this year, ending their season with a heart-breaking 3-2 triple overtime loss to five-time national champion Minnesota-Duluth in the NCAA Championship Game.

Cornell’s record stood at 10-8-6 after a 0-0 home tie with Quinnipiac University on February 5. In the next seven games, the Big Red went 7-0, allowing only three goals in that span. The win streak reached 11 when Cornell upset #1 seed Mercyhurst, 3-2 in overtime, in the NCAA semifinals in Minneapolis. Derraugh, who is 58-81-15 in five seasons, has rejuvenated the Cornell program during his tenure. In addition to advancing to the NCAA final, Cornell boasted three All-American selections this year (one on the First Team and two on the Second Team.)

A native of Arnprior, Ontario, Derraugh enjoyed a successful playing career for the Big Red, graduating in 1991 after playing 119 games and scoring 153 points (66-87-153). The team’s MVP as a senior, Derraugh’s 30 goals in 1990-91 are the most ever scored by a senior at Cornell. He followed his Cornell career with 13 years in Europe, playing with nine different teams in the top leagues in Norway, Germany, Austria and Finland.

Derraugh’s staff consists of Danielle Bilodeau and Edith Zimmering. The runner-up for this year’s AHCA Women’s Division I Coach of the Year award was Rick Seeley of Quinnipiac University.

The Coach of the Year Award winners are chosen by members of the American Hockey Coaches Association (AHCA). Winners will receive their awards at the annual AHCA Celebration of Women’s Ice Hockey Banquet, held in conjunction with the AHCA Convention in Naples, FL. This year’s event is scheduled for Friday, April 30.


Winners of the Women's Division I Coach of the Year
1998 Laura Halldorson, Minnesota   2005 Mike Sisti, Mercyhurst
1999 Katey Stone, Harvard   2006 Mark Johnson, Wisconsin
2000 Judy Oberting, Dartmouth   2007 Mark Johnson, Wisconsin
2001 Judy Oberting, Dartmouth   2008 Jim Fetter, Wayne State
2002 Laura Halldorson, Minnesota   2009 Mark Johnson, Wisconsin
2003 Shannon Miller, Minnesota-Duluth   2010 Doug Derraugh, Cornell
2004 Laura Halldorson, Minnesota      

      © American Hockey Coaches Association - All Rights Reserved.