News and Notes About the AHCA AHCA History Special Features Member's Only  
March 15, 2011
(Download release in PDF Format)

Six coaches who enjoyed on-ice success in 2010-11 have been named finalists for the AHCA Division I Women's Ice Hockey Coach of the Year Award. The award will be presented during the American Hockey Coaches Association (AHCA) Convention on Friday, April 29, in Naples, FL. Among the finalists are three former winners: 2005 winner Mike Sisti of Mercyhurst, three-time winner Mark Johnson of Wisconsin (2006, 2007, and 2009) and 2010 winner Doug Derraugh or Cornell.

To be a finalist for this award, you must either be voted Coach of the Year in your conference, or take your team to the NCAA Women's Ice Hockey National Collegiate Championship semifinals. The winner will be announced next week, after the conclusion of the championships hosted by Mercyhurst College in Erie, PA.

2010-11 AHCA Women’s Ice Hockey
Division One Coach of the Year Finalists

Bob Deraney, Providence (Hockey East Coach of the Year)
Doug Derraugh, Cornell (ECAC Coach of the Year/NCAA Semifinalist)*
Brian Durocher, Boston University (NCAA Semifinalist)
Katie King Crowley, Boston College (NCAA Semifinalist)
Mark Johnson, Wisconsin (WCHA Coach of the Year/ NCAA Semifinalist)*
Mike Sisti, Mercyhurst (CHA Coach of the Year)*
* Past Winner


Winners of the Women's Division I Coach of the Year
1998 Laura Halldorson, Minnesota   2005 Mike Sisti, Mercyhurst
1999 Katey Stone, Harvard   2006 Mark Johnson, Wisconsin
2000 Judy Oberting, Dartmouth   2007 Mark Johnson, Wisconsin
2001 Judy Oberting, Dartmouth   2008 Jim Fetter, Wayne State
2002 Laura Halldorson, Minnesota   2009 Mark Johnson, Wisconsin
2003 Shannon Miller, Minnesota-Duluth   2010 Doug Derraugh, Cornell
2004 Laura Halldorson, Minnesota      

      © American Hockey Coaches Association - All Rights Reserved.