March 15, 2011

Five coaches who have enjoyed on-ice success in 2010-11 have been named finalists for the AHCA College Division (NCAA Division III) Women's Ice Hockey Coach of the Year Award. The award will be presented during the American Hockey Coaches Association (AHCA) Convention Friday, April 29, in Naples, FL. The finalists include past winners Bill Mandigo of Middlebury College, who was the recipient three times (2001, 2004 and 2005), and Mark Bolding of Norwich University, who was honored last year.

To be considered a finalist, you must either be named Coach of the Year at the conference level or advance to the national championship semifinals. All four of this year's semifinalists earned conference Coach of the Year honors this season. The winner will be announced next week, after the conclusion of the NCAA Division III Women's Ice Hockey Championship being played at Rochester Institute of Technology in Rochester, NY, this weekend.

2010-11 AHCA Women's Ice Hockey
Division III Coach of the Year Finalists

Mark Bolding, Norwich—ECAC East Coach of the Year/NCAA Semifinalist*
Mike Carroll, Gustavus Adolphus—MIAC Coach of the Year/ NCAA Semifinalist
Joe Cranston, Wisconsin-River Falls—NCHA Coach of the Year
Scott McDonald, RIT—ECAC West Coach of the Year/NCAA Semifinalist
Bill Mandigo, Middlebury—NESCAC Coach of the Year/ NCAA Semifinalist*
*Previous Winner


Winners of the Women's Division III Coach of the Year Award
2000 Ted Wisner, Colgate   2006 Kevin Houle, Plattsburgh State
2001 Bill Mandigo, Middlebury   2007 Kevin Houle, Plattsburgh State
2002 Jamie Wood, Elmira   2008 Kevin Houle, Plattsburgh State
2003 Michele Amidon, Bowdoin   2009 Jim Plumer. Amherst College
2004 Bill Mandigo, Middlebury   2010 Mark Bolding, Norwich
2005 Bill Mandigo, Middlebury