March 21, 2011

Eleven players who have distinguished themselves on the ice in 2010-11 have been named finalists for the 2011 Sid Watson Award, given annually to the best NCAA Division III men's ice hockey player in the country. Three of the finalists took their teams into the NCAA Division III Men's Ice Hockey semifinals being played this weekend at Ridder Arena in Minneapolis, MN. They are SUNY Oswego junior goalie Paul Beckwith, St. Norbert College senior goalie B.J. O'Brien, and his teammate and classmate, defenseman Nick Tabisz.

Sponsored by the American Hockey Coaches Association, the Watson Award honors the memory of former Bowdoin College head coach and athletic director Sid Watson. A three-time AHCA Coach of the Year, Watson served Bowdoin for more than 30 years, winning 326 games in 24 seasons as head coach.

The recipient of this year's Watson Award will be announced this Thursday, March 24, during the 2011 NCAA Men's Division III Championship banquet in Minneapolis, MN.

Finalists for the 2010-11 Watson Award
AHCA Men's Ice Hockey College Division Player of the Year

Paul Beckwith, Junior, Goalie, SUNY-Oswego
(Cleveland, OH)
Chris Berenguer, Senior, Defense, Hamline
(Eden Prairie, MN)
Josh Harris, Sophomore, Forward, Castleton State
(Torrance, CA)
Joe Houk, Sophomore, Defense, Hamilton
(Richboro, PA)
Jeremiah Ketts, Junior, Forward, Johnson & Wales
(Foristell, MO)
B.J. O'Brien, Senior, Goalie, St. Norbert
(Lakeville, MN)
Jordan Oye, Senior, Forward, Fredonia
(Richmond, BC)
Kyle Shearer-Hardy, Senior, Defense, Bowdoin
(Montreal, PQ)
Nick Tabisz, Senior, Defense, St. Norbert
(Kettering, OH)
Connor Toomey, Junior, Goalie, MSOE
(Burlington, MA)
Matt Wallace, Senior, Forward, Hobart
(Skaneatles, NY)

Winners of the Sid Watson Award
AHCA Men’s Ice Hockey College Player of the Year
1993 Frank Cirone Wisconsin-Stevens Point Forward
1994 Ray Alcindor Middlebury Forward
1995 Charlie Gaffney Bowdoin Forward
1996 Ian Smith Middlebury Defense
1997 Steve Toll RIT Forward
1998 Mark Spence Middlebury Forward
1999 Rob Smillie St. Norbert Forward
2000 Steve Aronson St. Thomas Forward
2001 Keith Aucoin Norwich Forward
2002 Jerry Galway RIT Defense
2003 Maris Ziedins St. Norbert Forward
2004 Kevin Cooper Middlebury Forward
2005 Kurtis McLean Norwich Forward
2006 Adam Hanna St. John's Goalie
2007 Andrew Gallant Manhattanville Goalie
2008 Kyle Jones St. Norbert Goalie
2009 Jeff Landers Amherst Defense
2010 David Martinson Gustavus Adolphus Forward