March 24, 2011

For his efforts in leading the University of Wisconsin to its fourth NCAA title in six years, Mark Johnson has been named by his peers as the AHCA Women's Division I Coach of the Year for 2010-11. The Badgers compiled a record of 37-2-2 this year, winning both the WCHA regular season and tournament titles as well as the NCAA National Collegiate Championship. For Johnson, it is his fourth Coach of ther Year Award, having been similarly honored in 2006, 2007 and 2009.

Wisconsin entered the NCAA tournament on a 24-game unbeaten streak, having last tasted defeat on November 28. The Badgers ended the year as they began. Unbeaten in its final 27 games (25-0-2), Wisconsin started the season 8-0. In the NCAA Championship, Wisconsin downed #5 Minnesota- Duluth, 2-1, #3 Boston College, 3-2, and #2 Boston University, 4-1.

Johnson has a career record of 247-41-24 (.830) in eight seasons as head coach of the Badgers. (He was away for 2009-10 with the U.S. Olympic Team.) His winning percentage ranks him first among active NCAA Division I women's head coaches.

However, Johnson's fame in Madison began years before assuming his current role. A two-time All American and the school's all-time goal-scoring leader (125 goals in 125 games), Johnson led his Badgers to an NCAA title in 1977 and was WCHA MVP in 1979, before embarking on an impressive post-college career. A star on the1980 "Miracle On Ice" U.S. Olympic Team, Johnson enjoyed a 11-year NHL career before retiring as a player and getting into coaching. He is the son of the late coaching icon, Bob Johnson, who coached at Colorado College and the University of Wisconsin, before winning two Stanley Cups with the Pittsburgh Penguins.

Johnson was assisted this season by Tracy DeKeyser, Jackie Friesen, and Mark Greenhalgh. The runner-up for this year's AHCA Women's Division I Coach of the Year award was Brian Durocher of Boston University, whose Terriers lost to Wisconsin in the 2011 NCAA championship game, 4-1.

The Coach of the Year Award winners are chosen by members of the American Hockey Coaches Association (AHCA). Winners will receive their awards at the annual AHCA "Celebration of Women's Hockey" Banquet, held in conjunction with the AHCA Convention in Naples, FL. This year's event is scheduled for Friday, April 29.


Winners of the Women's Division I Coach of the Year
1998 Laura Halldorson, Minnesota   2005 Mike Sisti, Mercyhurst
1999 Katey Stone, Harvard   2006 Mark Johnson, Wisconsin
2000 Judy Oberting, Dartmouth   2007 Mark Johnson, Wisconsin
2001 Judy Oberting, Dartmouth   2008 Jim Fetter, Wayne State
2002 Laura Halldorson, Minnesota   2009 Mark Johnson, Wisconsin
2003 Shannon Miller, Minnesota-Duluth   2010 Doug Derraugh, Cornell
2004 Laura Halldorson, Minnesota   2011 Mark Johnson, Wisconsin