March 29, 2011

Eight coaches who have enjoyed on-ice success in 2010-11 have been named finalists for the Spencer Penrose Award, given annually to the NCAA Division I Men's Ice Hockey Coach of the Year. The nominees represent any coach who won or shared Coach of the Year honors in his conference this past season, along with coaches whose teams have advanced to the NCAA Division I Men's Ice Hockey semifinals. Of this year's finalists, five were past recipients and one, Jeff Jackson of Notre Dame, is both an NCAA semifinalists and a conference Coach of the Year (CCHA) this season.

The Spencer Penrose Award is named in memory of the Colorado Springs benefactor who built the Broadmoor Hotel Complex, site of the first ten NCAA championship hockey tournaments. It will be presented at the AHCA Coach of the Year Banquet in Naples, Florida, on Saturday evening, April 30. The winner will be announced following the NCAA Division I Men's Ice Hockey Championship scheduled for April 7 and 9 in St. Paul, MN.

2010-11 AHCA Men's Ice Hockey
Division One Coach of the Year Finalists

Red Berenson, Michigan— NCAA Semifinalist*
Dean Blais, Nebraska Omaha—WCHA Coach of the Year*
Dave Hakstol, North Dakota— NCAA Semifinalist
Jeff Jackson, Notre Dame—CCHA Coach of the Year and NCAA Semifinalist*
Nate Leaman, Union—ECAC Coach of the Year
Paul Pearl, Holy Cross—AHA Coach of the Year
Scott Sandelin, Minnesota-Duluth— NCAA Semifinalist*
Jerry York, Boston College—HE Coach of the Year*
* Past Spencer Penrose Award Winner


Winners of the Spencer Penrose Award
(Division I Coach of the Year)
1951 Edward Jeremiah, Dartmouth   1981 Bill O'Flaherty, Clarkson
1952 Cheddy Thompson, Colorado College   1982 Ferny Flaman, Northeastern
1953 John Mariucci, Minnesota   1983 Bill Cleary, Harvard
1954 Vic Heyliger, Michigan   1984 Mike Sertich, Minnesota-Duluth
1955 Ralph "Cooney" Weiland, Harvard   1985 Len Ceglarski, Boston College
1956 William Harrison, Clarkson   1986 Ralph Backstrom, Denver
1957 Jack Riley, Army   1987 John "Gino" Gasparini, North Dakota
1958 Harry Cleverly, Boston University   1988 Frank Anzalone, Lake Superior
1959 John "Snooks" Kelley, Boston College   1989 Joe Marsh, St. Lawrence
1960 Jack Riley, Army   1990 Terry Slater, Colgate
1961 Murray Armstrong, Denver   1991 Rick Comley, Northern Michigan
1962 Jack Kelley, Colby   1992 Ron Mason, Michigan State
1963 Tony Frasca, Colorado College   1993 George Gwozdecky, Miami
1964 Tom Eccleston, Jr., Providence   1994 Don Lucia, Colorado College
1965 Jim Fullerton, Brown   1995 Shawn Walsh, Maine
1966 Amo Bessone, Michigan State
Len Ceglarski, Clarkson
  1996 Bruce Crowder, UMass Lowell
1967 Edward Jeremiah, Dartmouth   1997 Dean Blais, North Dakota
1968 Ned Harkness, Cornell   1998 Tim Taylor, Yale
1969 Charlie Holt, New Hampshire   1999 Richard Umile, New Hampshire
1970 John Maclnnes, Michigan Tech   2000 Joe Marsh, St. Lawrence
1971 Ralph "Cooney" Weiland, Harvard   2001 Dean Blais, North Dakota
1972 John "Snooks" Kelley, Boston College   2002 Tim Whitehead, Maine
1973 Len Ceglarski, Boston College   2003 Bob Daniels, Ferris State
1974 Charlie Holt, New Hampshire   2004 Scott Sandelin, Minnesota-Duluth
1975 Jack Parker, Boston University   2005 George Gwozdecky, Denver
1976 John Maclnnes, Michigan Tech   2006 Enrico Blasi, Miami
1977 Jerry York, Clarkson   2007 Jeff Jackson, Notre Dame
1978 Jack Parker, Boston University   2008 Red Berenson, Michigan
1979 Charlie Holt, New Hampshire   2009 Jack Parker, Boston University
1980 Rick Comley, Northern Michigan   2010 Wayne Wilson, RIT