March 31, 2011
Edward Jeremiah Award to be Presented on April 30 in Naples, FL

Tim Coghlin, who led St. Norbert College to a 25-4-1 record and the school's second NCAA Division III Men's Ice Hockey National Championship, has been named the 43rd recipient of the Edward Jeremiah Award, given annually to the Men's Division III Ice Hockey Coach of the Year. For Coghlin, the recognition marks the second time he has been so honored, earning the award in 2008 as well.

Coghlin, a 1989 graduate of UW-Stevens Point, has enjoyed a record of 390-108-40 in 18 seasons at SNC. Win #390 was a 4-3 thriller over Adrian College in this year's NCAA Men's Division III Championship game in Minneapolis. To reach the final, the Green Knights defeated Hamline, 4-0, and then beat defending NCAA champion Norwich, 3-2, in the semifinals.

National championships are nothing new to Coghlin. In addition to coaching St. Norbert College to its first NCAA title in 2008, Coghlin won as a player when he captain UW-Stevens Point to its first championship in 1989 and was an assistant coach when the Pointers won again in 1993. A native of Summerland, British Columbia, Coghlin was a two-time All-American on defense for UWSP and followed his college career with a brief profesional career, signing with Vancouver and playing for the Milwaukee Admirals. He also spent a year as a player-coach in England.

This season, Coghlin was assisted by A.J. Aitken, Mark Mazzoleni and Tommy Cianflone.

The Edward Jeremiah Award is named in honor of the great Dartmouth College head coach and was first presented in 1970. The runner-up for this year's Edward Jeremiah Award was Ed Gosek of SUNY Oswego, winners of this award in 2007.

The Coach of the Year Awards are chosen by members of the American Hockey Coaches Association (AHCA). Winners will receive their awards at the annual AHCA Celebration of Men's Ice Hockey Banquet, held in conjunction with the AHCA Convention in Naples, FL. This year's banquet is scheduled for Saturday, April 30.


Winners of the Edward Jeremiah Award
( Division Coach of the Year)
1970 Sid Watson, Bowdoin   1991 Glenn Thomaris, Elmira
1971 Sid Watson, Bowdoin   1992 Bruce Marshall, Connecticut
1972 Jack Canniff, Massachusetts   1993 Joe Baldarotta, WI-Stevens Point
1973 Jim Cross, Vermont   1994 Jeff Meredith, Fredonia
1974 Barry Urbanski, Boston State   1995 Bill Beaney, Middlebury
1975 Wendall Forbes, Middlebury   1996 Dean Talafous, WI-River Falls
1976 Don Roberts, Gustavus Adolphus   1997 Mike McShane, Norwich
1977 Bill Riley, Jr., Lowell   1998 Mike Schwartz, Augsburg
1978 Sid Watson, Bowdoin   1999 Mike McShane, Norwich
1979 Don Brose, Mankato State   2000 Mike McShane, Norwich
1980 Steve Stirling, Babson   2001 Wayne Wilson, RIT
1981 Herb Hammond, Plattsburgh State   2002 Dan Stauber, WI-Superior
1982 Steve Stirling, Babson   2003 George Roll, Oswego State
1983 Mike Gibbons, Bemidji State   2004 Bill Beaney, Middlebury
  Peter Van Buskirk, Holy Cross   2005 Terry Skrypek, St. Thomas
1984 Bob Peters, Bemidji State   2006 Bill Beaney, Middlebury
1985 Rob Riley, Babson   2007 Ed Gosek, Oswego State
1986 Terry Meagher, Bowdoin   2008 Tim Coghlin, St. Norbert College
1987 Tony Mariano, Norwich   2009 Dominick Dawes, Neumann College
1988 Glenn Thomaris, Elmira   2010 Mike McShane, Norwich
1989 Terry Meagher, Bowdoin   2011 Tim Coghlin, St. Norbert College
1990 Bill Beaney, Middlebury