April 13, 2011
Will Receive Spencer Penrose Award at AHCA Convention on April 30 in Naples, FL

For his efforts in leading the Dutchmen of Union College to a first place regular season finish in the Eastern College Athletic Conference (ECAC), Nate Leaman has been chosen the winner of the 2011 Spencer Penrose Award as Division I Men's Coach of the Year. Union set school records for overall wins (26) and conference wins (17) en route to the school's first Cleary Cup (ECAC regular season title) and first NCAA Division I tournament berth.

The Dutchmen went 14-1-1 in their final 16 regular season games to clinch the league title. Highlighting the season's accomplishments, Union led the nation in power play efficiency with a 29.5% success rate and the team defense, allowing just 2.10 goals per game, was second in the nation. The team allowed two or fewer goals in 24 of its games. Playing a key role in the latter statistic was sophomore goaltender Keith Kinkaid who was voted an Old Time Hockey First Team All American, just the second Union player to be so honored in the school's time in Division I.

Leaman recently completed his 8th season as head coach in Schenectady and in that time, has compiled an overall record of 138-127-35. His 138 wins are the most of any of the 14 head coaches in school history.

A 1997 graduate of SUNY Cortland, Leaman served as team captain in both his junior and senior years and graduated as one of the Top 20 scorers in school history. After a brief stint at the high school level, Leaman began his college coaching career with legendary University of Maine coach Shawn Walsh, serving with the 1998-99 Black Bear team that won the NCAA Championship.

From Orono, it was on to four years as a top assistant to Harvard University head coach Mark Mazzoleni, helping return the Crimson to the top of ECAC competition. His Union tenure began with the 2003-04 season and he has built upon success with each year. This season marked the fourth straight season in which the win total topped the previous year.

Assisting Leaman this season were Rick Bennett, Ben Barr and Jason Tapp.

The runner-up for this year's AHCA Men's Division I Coach of the Year award was Scott Sandelin of the University of Minnesota-Duluth, the 2004 recipient of this award.

The Spencer Penrose Award is named in memory of the Colorado Springs benefactor who built the Broadmoor Hotel Complex, site of the first ten NCAA championship hockey tournaments. It will be presented at the AHCA Coach of the Year Banquet in Naples, Florida, on Saturday evening, April 30.


Winners of the Spencer Penrose Award
(Division I Coach of the Year)
1951 Edward Jeremiah, Dartmouth   1982 Ferny Flaman, Northeastern
1952 Cheddy Thompson, Colorado College   1983 Bill Cleary, Harvard
1953 John Mariucci, Minnesota   1984 Mike Sertich, Minnesota-Duluth
1954 Vic Heyliger, Michigan   1985 Len Ceglarski, Boston College
1955 Ralph "Cooney" Weiland, Harvard   1986 Ralph Backstrom, Denver
1956 William Harrison, Clarkson   1987 John "Gino" Gasparini, North Dakota
1957 Jack Riley, Army   1988 Frank Anzalone, Lake Superior
1958 Harry Cleverly, Boston University   1989 Joe Marsh, St. Lawrence
1959 John "Snooks" Kelley, Boston College   1990 Terry Slater, Colgate
1960 Jack Riley, Army   1991 Rick Comley, Northern Michigan
1961 Murray Armstrong, Denver   1992 Ron Mason, Michigan State
1962 Jack Kelley, Colby   1993 George Gwozdecky, Miami
1963 Tony Frasca, Colorado College   1994 Don Lucia, Colorado College
1964 Tom Eccleston, Jr., Providence   1995 Shawn Walsh, Maine
1965 Jim Fullerton, Brown   1996 Bruce Crowder, UMass Lowell
1966 Amo Bessone, Michigan State
Len Ceglarski, Clarkson
  1997 Dean Blais, North Dakota
1967 Edward Jeremiah, Dartmouth   1998 Tim Taylor, Yale
1968 Ned Harkness, Cornell   1999 Richard Umile, New Hampshire
1969 Charlie Holt, New Hampshire   2000 Joe Marsh, St. Lawrence
1970 John Maclnnes, Michigan Tech   2001 Dean Blais, North Dakota
1971 Ralph "Cooney" Weiland, Harvard   2002 Tim Whitehead, Maine
1972 John "Snooks" Kelley, Boston College   2003 Bob Daniels, Ferris State
1973 Len Ceglarski, Boston College   2004 Scott Sandelin, Minnesota-Duluth
1974 Charlie Holt, New Hampshire   2005 George Gwozdecky, Denver
1975 Jack Parker, Boston University   2006 Enrico Blasi, Miami
1976 John Maclnnes, Michigan Tech   2007 Jeff Jackson, Notre Dame
1977 Jerry York, Clarkson   2008 Red Berenson, Michigan
1978 Jack Parker, Boston University   2009 Jack Parker, Boston University
1979 Charlie Holt, New Hampshire   2010 Wayne Wilson, RIT
1980 Rick Comley, Northern Michigan   2011 Nate Leaman, Union
1981 Bill O'Flaherty, Clarkson