News and Notes About the AHCA AHCA History Special Features Member's Only  
March 12, 2012
(Download release in PDF Format)

Eight coaches who enjoyed on-ice success in 2011-12 have been named finalists for the AHCA Division I Women's Ice Hockey Coach of the Year Award. The award will be presented during the American Hockey Coaches Association (AHCA) Convention on Friday, April 27, in Naples, FL. Among the finalists are two former winners: four-time winner Mark Johnson of Wisconsin (2006, 2007, 2009 and 2011) and Doug Derraugh of Cornell (2010).

To be a finalist for this award, you must either be voted Coach of the Year in your conference, or take your team to the NCAA Women's Ice Hockey National Collegiate Championship semifinals. The winner will be announced next week, after the conclusion of the championships hosted by the University of Minnesota-Duluth in Duluth, MN.

2011-12 AHCA Women’s Ice Hockey
Division One Coach of the Year Finalists

Paul Colontino, Robert Morris, CHA Coach of the Year
Katie King Crowley, Boston College—Hockey East, NCAA Semifinalist
Doug Derraugh, Cornell—ECAC, NCAA Semifinalist
Dave Flint, Northeastern—Hockey East Co-Coach of the Year
Brad Frost, Minnesota—WCHA, NCAA Semifinalist
Mark Johnson, Wisconsin—WCHA Coach of the Year, NCAA Semifinalist
Maria Lewis, Maine—Hockey East Co-Coach of the Year
Chris Wells, St. Lawrence—ECAC Coach of the Year
* Past Winner


Winners of the Women's Division I Coach of the Year
1998 Laura Halldorson, Minnesota   2005 Mike Sisti, Mercyhurst
1999 Katey Stone, Harvard   2006 Mark Johnson, Wisconsin
2000 Judy Oberting, Dartmouth   2007 Mark Johnson, Wisconsin
2001 Judy Oberting, Dartmouth   2008 Jim Fetter, Wayne State
2002 Laura Halldorson, Minnesota   2009 Mark Johnson, Wisconsin
2003 Shannon Miller, Minnesota-Duluth   2010 Doug Derraugh, Cornell
2004 Laura Halldorson, Minnesota   2011 Mark Johnson, Wisconsin

      © American Hockey Coaches Association - All Rights Reserved.