March 12, 2012

Nine coaches who have enjoyed on-ice success in 2011-12 have been named finalists for the AHCA College Division (NCAA Division III) Women's Ice Hockey Coach of the Year Award. The award will be presented during the American Hockey Coaches Association (AHCA) Convention Friday, April 27, in Naples, FL. The finalists include past winners Kevin Houle of Plattsburgh, who was the recipient three times (2006, 2007 and 2008), and Mark Bolding of Norwich University, who has won the last two years.

To be considered a finalist, you must either be named Coach of the Year at the conference level or advance to the national championship semifinals. The winner will be announced next week, after the conclusion of the NCAA Division III Women's Ice Hockey Championship being played at Rochester Institute of Technology in Rochester, NY, this weekend.

2011-12 AHCA Women's Ice Hockey
Division III Coach of the Year Finalists

Mark Bolding, Norwich—ECAC East, NCAA Semifinalist*
Bill Bowes, Castleton—ECAC East Coach of the Year
Brett Bruininks, Concordia—MIAC Coach of the Year
Mike Carroll, Gustavus Adolphus—MIAC, NCAA Semifinalist
Carson Duggan, Trinity—NESCAC Coach of the Year
Jay Green, SUNY Potsdam—ECAC West Coach of the Year
Kevin Houle, Plattsburgh—ECAC West, NCAA Semifinalist*
Dan Laughlin, UW-Superior—NCHA Coach of the Year
Scott McDonald, RIT—ECAC West, NCAA Semifinalist
*Previous Winner


Winners of the Women's Division III Coach of the Year Award
2000 Ted Wisner, Colgate   2006 Kevin Houle, Plattsburgh State
2001 Bill Mandigo, Middlebury   2007 Kevin Houle, Plattsburgh State
2002 Jamie Wood, Elmira   2008 Kevin Houle, Plattsburgh State
2003 Michele Amidon, Bowdoin   2009 Jim Plumer. Amherst College
2004 Bill Mandigo, Middlebury   2010 Mark Bolding, Norwich
2005 Bill Mandigo, Middlebury   2011 Mark Bolding, Norwich