March 12, 2012

Ten players who have distinguished themselves on the ice in 2011-12 have been named finalists for the 2012 Sid Watson Award, given annually to the best NCAA Division III men's ice hockey player in the country. Three of the finalists took their teams into the NCAA Division III Men's Ice Hockey semifinals being played this weekend at Herb Brooks Arena in Lake Placid, NY. They are Norwich junior forward Pier-Olivier Cotnoir, Amherst senior goaltender Jonathan La Rose and St. Norbert College senior forward Johan Ryd.

Sponsored by the American Hockey Coaches Association, the Watson Award honors the memory of former Bowdoin College head coach and athletic director Sid Watson. A three-time AHCA Coach of the Year, Watson served Bowdoin for more than 30 years, winning 326 games in 24 seasons as head coach.

The recipient of this year's Watson Award will be announced this Thursday, March 15, during the 2012 NCAA Men's Division III Championship banquet in Lake Placid.

Finalists for the 2011-12 Watson Award
AHCA Men's Ice Hockey College Division Player of the Year

James Cody, Senior, Forward, Brockport
(Schwenksville, PA)
SUNYAC Player of the Year

Pier-Olivier Cotnoir, Junior, Forward, Norwich
(Rouyn-Noranda, PQ)
ECAC East Player of the Year

Zach Graham, Junior, Forward, Adrian
(Palmerston, ON)
MCHA Player of the Year

Jeremiah Ketts, Senior, Forward, Johnson & Wales
(Foristell, MO)
ECAC Northeast Player of the Year; 2011 Sid Watson Finalist

Jonathan La Rose, Senior, Goalie, Amherst
(Edmonton, AB)
NESCAC Player of the Year

Mike Owens, Senior, Forward, UMass Dartmouth
(South Boston, MA)
MASCAC Player of the Year

Ross Ring-Jarvi, Senior, Forward, Gustavus Adolphus
(Anoka, MN)
MIAC Player of the Year

Johan Ryd, Senior, Forward, St. Norbert
(Sodertalje, Sweden)
NCHA Player of the Year

Connor Toomey, Senior, Goalie, MSOE
(Burlington, MA)
2011 Sid Watson Finalist

Kevin Willer, Senior, Forward, Elmira
(Toronto, ON)
ECAC West Player of the Year

Winners of the Sid Watson Award
AHCA Men’s Ice Hockey College Player of the Year
1993 Frank Cirone Wisconsin-Stevens Point Forward
1994 Ray Alcindor Middlebury Forward
1995 Charlie Gaffney Bowdoin Forward
1996 Ian Smith Middlebury Defense
1997 Steve Toll RIT Forward
1998 Mark Spence Middlebury Forward
1999 Rob Smillie St. Norbert Forward
2000 Steve Aronson St. Thomas Forward
2001 Keith Aucoin Norwich Forward
2002 Jerry Galway RIT Defense
2003 Maris Ziedins St. Norbert Forward
2004 Kevin Cooper Middlebury Forward
2005 Kurtis McLean Norwich Forward
2006 Adam Hanna St. John's Goalie
2007 Andrew Gallant Manhattanville Goalie
2008 Kyle Jones St. Norbert Goalie
2009 Jeff Landers Amherst Defense
2010 David Martinson Gustavus Adolphus Forward
2011 Chris Berenguer Hamline Defense