March 15, 2012
Edward Jeremiah Award to be Presented on April 28 in Naples, FL

LAKE PLACID, NY — Jack Arena, who led Amherst College into this weekend's NCAA Division III Men's Ice Hockey National Championship Semifinals with a 24-3-1 record, has been named the 44th recipient of the Edward Jeremiah Award, given annually to the Men's Division III Ice Hockey Coach of the Year.

The Lord Jeffs have been one of the most consistent teams in Division III this year, following an 8-1 start with a 6-2-1 record during a grueling nine-game road trip, and they have since extended that to 12-0 for the longest active unbeaten streak in Division III. Amherst won the program's second conference title after defeating Middlebury for the third time this season, and followed with a 3-1 win over Plattsburgh in the NCAA quarterfinals to finish at 14-0 at home. This weekend will mark Amherst's firstever trip to the national semifinals, as the Jeffs had come up short in their two previous quarterfinal appearances.

The Jeffs lead the nation in scoring defense (1.64), having outscored opponents by a 50-12 margin during their current 12-game win streak. Amherst also ranks nationally in power play (27.5, 5th), penalty kill (87.0, 5th) and combined special teams (57.1, 4th) with six shutouts to its credit. Arena is finishing his 29th season at Amherst where he has compiled a record of 376-290-50. He stepped into the head coaching position immediately following graduation from Amherst in 1983. He had served as the Amherst captain during the 1982-83 season in which he also received the Division III Hobey Baker Award. He remains the fourth leading scorer in Amherst history.

A native of Randolph, Massachusetts, Arena also serves as the Amherst golf coach. This season, Arena was assisted by Gregg DiNardo and Mike McLaughlin.

The Edward Jeremiah Award is named in honor of the great Dartmouth College head coach and was first presented in 1970. The runner-up for this year's Edward Jeremiah Award was Mike McShane of Norwich University, a four-time recipient of this award (1997, 1999, 2000, and 2010).

The Coach of the Year Awards are chosen by members of the American Hockey Coaches Association (AHCA). Winners will receive their awards at the annual AHCA Celebration of Men's Ice Hockey Banquet, held in conjunction with the AHCA Convention in Naples, FL. This year's banquet is scheduled for Saturday, April 28.


Winners of the Edward Jeremiah Award
( Division Coach of the Year)
1970 Sid Watson, Bowdoin   1991 Glenn Thomaris, Elmira
1971 Sid Watson, Bowdoin   1992 Bruce Marshall, Connecticut
1972 Jack Canniff, Massachusetts   1993 Joe Baldarotta, WI-Stevens Point
1973 Jim Cross, Vermont   1994 Jeff Meredith, Fredonia
1974 Barry Urbanski, Boston State   1995 Bill Beaney, Middlebury
1975 Wendall Forbes, Middlebury   1996 Dean Talafous, WI-River Falls
1976 Don Roberts, Gustavus Adolphus   1997 Mike McShane, Norwich
1977 Bill Riley, Jr., Lowell   1998 Mike Schwartz, Augsburg
1978 Sid Watson, Bowdoin   1999 Mike McShane, Norwich
1979 Don Brose, Mankato State   2000 Mike McShane, Norwich
1980 Steve Stirling, Babson   2001 Wayne Wilson, RIT
1981 Herb Hammond, Plattsburgh State   2002 Dan Stauber, WI-Superior
1982 Steve Stirling, Babson   2003 George Roll, Oswego State
1983 Mike Gibbons, Bemidji State   2004 Bill Beaney, Middlebury
  Peter Van Buskirk, Holy Cross   2005 Terry Skrypek, St. Thomas
1984 Bob Peters, Bemidji State   2006 Bill Beaney, Middlebury
1985 Rob Riley, Babson   2007 Ed Gosek, Oswego State
1986 Terry Meagher, Bowdoin   2008 Tim Coghlin, St. Norbert College
1987 Tony Mariano, Norwich   2009 Dominick Dawes, Neumann College
1988 Glenn Thomaris, Elmira   2010 Mike McShane, Norwich
1989 Terry Meagher, Bowdoin   2011 Tim Coghlin, St. Norbert College
1990 Bill Beaney, Middlebury   2012 Jack Arena, Amherst College