March 15, 2012
Laura Hurd Award Winner To Compete this Weekend in NCAA Championship

ROCHESTER, NY — Senior forward Julie Fortier of Norwich University has been chosen by the nation's coaches as the 2012 winner of the Laura Hurd Award, symbolic of the nation's best Division III women's ice hockey player. Fortier, a native of Saint- Malachie, Quebec, has led her squad to a 26-2-1 record and a berth in this week's NCAA Division III Women's Ice Hockey Championship semifinals being played at RIT.

Fortier has 30 goals and 23 assists in 28 games to date this season and has recorded 173 career points in 118 games. The ECAC East Player of the Year, Fortier earned First Team CCM All-American status for the first time this season.

Said Norwich head coach Mark Bolding, "Julie Fortier is enjoying another banner season leading the Cadets offensively in her final year. She is currently leading the nation in goal scoring with 30 goals; which includes six game winners, nine power play, and two shorthanded goals. She also leads the nation in overall points with 53, averaging 1.93 points per game.

"She recently earned both the 2011-2 ECAC East Player of the Year and 2012 First Team All-ECAC Team - both for the first time in her career. She also serves as an assistant captain for Norwich and has developed into a very effective leader and solid, consistent penalty killer.

"Julie is a dangerous offensive player that has consistently been a threat with the puck since her freshmen year. She has long reach, hard shot, and very soft hands making her arguably one of the most talented and productive Division III players during her collegiate tenure. This past season she eclipsed the Norwich single season and all time program record in goals and points; both career benchmarks were previously held by last year's national scoring leader and Laura Hurd finalist Sophie Leclerc.

"Julie is an excellent student-athlete as well, majoring in Sports Medicine and currently maintains a 3.63 GPA. She has been a student-trainer for several varsity athletic teams here at Norwich and has volunteered with the local youth hockey organization for the past few years for on-ice practices."

The award is named in honor of former Elmira College star Laura Hurd who died in a car accident shortly after graduation. Hurd was a four-time All-American who led Elmira to victory in the first NCAA Division III Women's Hockey Championships.

The runner-up for the 2012 Laura Hurd Award was Allison Schwab, a senior forward from Gustavus Adolphus College and Stillwater, MN.

Winners of the Laura Hurd Award
AHCA Women’s Ice Hockey College Player of the Year
2000 Sylvia Ryan Middlebury Forward
2001 Michelle Labbe Middlebury Forward
2002 Sarah Moe Gustavus Adolphus Forward
2003 Angela Kapus Middlebury Forward/Defense
2004 Molly Wasserman Williams Forward
2005 Laura Hurd Elmira Forward
2006 Emily Quizon Middlebury Forward
2007 Andrea Peterson Gustavus Adolphus Defense
2008 Danielle Blanchard Plattsburgh Forward
2009 Kayla Coady Elmira Forward
2010 Isabel Iwachiw Trinity Goaltender
2011 Sarah Dagg RIT Goaltender
2012 Julie Fortier Norwich Forward