March 15, 2012
Sid Watson Award Winner is Second from Amherst College

Senior goaltender Jonathan LaRose of Amherst College has been chosen by the nation's coaches as the 2012 winner of the Sid Watson Award Award, symbolic of the nation's best Division III men's hockey player. The 5-9, 170-pound native of Edmonton, Alberta, has helped Amherst to a 24-3-1 record and a NESCAC championship, as well as a berth in this weekend's NCAA Division III Men's Ice Hockey Championships at Lake Placid, NY. Amherst advanced to the semifinals with a 3-1 win over SUNY Plattsburgh last weekend.

LaRose has compiled a 1.53 goals allowed average in 21 games this season and has a career GAA of 1.67 in 50 games. Selected as the NESCAC Player of the Year, the consistent LaRose has a save percentage of .943 for both this season and his career.

Said Amherst head coach Jack Arena in nominating LaRose, "Jonathan has made the NESCAC All Star team in each of his three years with us. This season he was also selected as the NESCAC Player of the Year. His record this season is 19-1-1 and his career record is a phenomenal 42-4-3. He is also in position to set the DIII record for career save percentage.

"Jonathan has an outstanding work ethic and is as committed as any player we have. He loves the game and approaches it and everything around it the right way. He is an excellent teammate and leader and adds a mature perspective that is so important for the younger players on our team."

LaRose is the second Watson Award winner to come from Amherst. The 2009 recipient was defenseman Jeff Landers.

The award is named in honor of former Bowdoin College head coach Sid Watson, a three-time winner of the Edward Jeremiah Award as Division III Coach of the Year. Watson won 326 at Bowdoin in a career that spanned from 1959 to 1983. He was also the school's athletic director.

The runner-up for the 2011 Sid Watson Award was Pier-Olivier Cotnoir, a junior forward from Norwich University.

Winners of the Sid Watson Award
AHCA Men’s Ice Hockey College Player of the Year
1993 Frank Cirone Wisconsin-Stevens Point Forward
1994 Ray Alcindor Middlebury Forward
1995 Charlie Gaffney Bowdoin Forward
1996 Ian Smith Middlebury Defense
1997 Steve Toll RIT Forward
1998 Mark Spence Middlebury Forward
1999 Rob Smillie St. Norbert Forward
2000 Steve Aronson St. Thomas Forward
2001 Keith Aucoin Norwich Forward
2002 Jerry Galway RIT Defense
2003 Maris Ziedins St. Norbert Forward
2004 Kevin Cooper Middlebury Forward
2005 Kurtis McLean Norwich Forward
2006 Adam Hanna St. John's Goalie
2007 Andrew Gallant Manhattanville Goalie
2008 Kyle Jones St. Norbert Goalie
2009 Jeff Landers Amherst Defense
2010 David Martinson Gustavus Adolphus Forward
2011 Chris Berenguer Hamline Defense
2012 Jonathan LaRose Amherst Goalie