News and Notes About the AHCA AHCA History Special Features Member's Only  
April 6, 2012
(Download release in PDF Format)

Seventeen different Division I hockey-playing schools can celebrate players honored as CCM Hockey All Americans for the 2011-12 season. The nation's top 24 college hockey players were announced tonight at the NCAA Men's Division I Frozen Four in Tampa, FL. Leading the way with three selections was ECAC Champion and NCAA semifinalist Union College. The other three semifinalists —Boston College, Ferris State and Minnesota — each had two honorees. Noteworthy this year:

- Three players repeated as First Team choices: Boston College junior defenseman Brian Dumoulin, Wisconsin junior defenseman Justin Schultz and Minnesota-Duluth senior forward Jack Connolly. Connolly was also a Second Team selection in 2010.

- There are 15 players from the United States and nine from Canada.

- The U.S. selections come from Minnesota (5), Michigan (3), Massachusetts (2), Maine (1), Nevada (1), Pennsylvania (1), Texas (1) and Wisconsin (1). The Canadian honorees hail from Ontario (3), Quebec (2), Saskatchewan (2), British Columbia (1) and Manitoba (1).

- Eleven of the honorees are seniors. Of the other 13, six are juniors and seven are sophomores.

- The ECAC and WCHA each had seven All-Americans, followed by five from the CCHA, four from Hockey East, and one from Atlantic Hockey.

- Eighteen players participated in the NCAA Tournament. Nine of them advanced to the "Frozen Four."

- The honorees include nine of the ten finalists for the 2012 Hobey Baker Memorial Award, the one omission being Michigan senior goaltender Shawn Hunwick.

The CCM HOCKEY ALL-AMERICAN ICE HOCKEY TEAMS are sponsored by CCM HOCKEY and chosen by members of the AMERICAN HOCKEY COACHES ASSOCIATION. CCM is the legendary hockey brand dedicated to the endless pursuit of performance by delivering game-changing, head-to-toe innovative hockey equipment to players worldwide.

First Team
Troy Grosenick, SO, Union College
(Brookfield, WI)
Taylor Nelson, SR, Ferris State University
(Regina, SK)
Danny Biega, JR, Harvard University
(Montreal, PQ)
Torey Krug, JR, Michigan State University
(Livonia, MI)
Brian Dumoulin , JR, Boston College*
(Biddeford, ME)
Justin Schultz, JR, University of Wisconsin*
(West Kelowna, BC)
Spencer Abbott, SR, University of Maine
(Hamilton, ON)
Jack Connolly, JR, Minnesota-Duluth*#
(Duluth, MN)
Alex Killorn, SR, Harvard University
(Montreal, PQ)
Jaden Schwartz, SO, Colorado College
(Wilcox, SK)
Austin Smith, SR, Colgate University
(Dallas, TX)
Reilly Smith, JR, Miami University
(Mimico, ON)
Second Team
Joe Cannata, SR, Merrimack College
(Wakefield, MA)
Kent Patterson, SR, University of Minnesota
(Plymouth, MN)
Mat Bodie, SO, Union College
(East St. Paul, MB)
Chad Billins, SR, Ferris State University
(Marysville, MI)
Tim Kirby, SR, U.S. Air Force Academy
(Austin, MN)
Dan DeKeyser, SO, Western Michigan University
(Clay Township, MI)
Barry Almeida, SR, Boston College
(Springfield, MA)
Nick Bjugstad, SO, University of Minnesota
(Blaine, MN)
Brian O'Neill, SR, Yale University
(Yardley, PA)
J.T. Brown, SO, University of Minnesota-Duluth
(Burnsville, MN)
Jeremy Welsh, JR, Union College
(Bayfield, ON)
Jason Zucker, SO, University of Denver
(Las Vegas, NV)
* First Team in in 2010-11; #Second Team in 2009-10



      © American Hockey Coaches Association - All Rights Reserved.