March 11, 2013

Thirteen coaches who have enjoyed on-ice success in 2012-13 have been named finalists for the Edward Jeremiah Award, given annually to the College Division (NCAA Division III) Men's Ice Hockey Coach of the Year. Named in honor of the former Dartmouth head coach, the Jeremiah Award will be presented during the American Hockey Coaches Association (AHCA) Convention on Saturday, May 4, in Naples, FL.

The nominees represent any coach who won or shared Coach of the Year honors in his conference this past season, along with coaches whose teams have advanced to the 2013 NCAA Division III Men's Ice Hockey Championship. Of this year's finalists, two were past recipients: Ed Gosek of Oswego (2007) and Mike McShane of Norwich (1997, 1999, 2000 and 2010). Among the four NCAA semifinalists, both Gary Heenan of Utica and Matt Loen of UW-Eau Claire were also conference Coach of the Year honorees this season.

The winner will be announced Thursday evening at the student-athlete banquet at the NCAA Division III Men's Ice Hockey Championships being played this weekend at the Herb Brooks Arena in Lake Placid, NY.

2012-13 AHCA Men's Ice Hockey
Edward Jeremiah Award (Division III Coach of the Year) Finalists

Peter Belisle, UMass-Boston—ECAC East Coach of the Year
Andy Boschetto, Salve Regina—ECAC Northeast Co-Coach of the Year
Ron Fogarty, Adrian—MCHA Coach of the Year
Ed Gosek, Osewego—SUNYAC, NCAA Semifinalist*
Matt Greason, Trinity—NESCAC Coach of the Year
Jaymie Harrington, Franklin Pierce—Northeast-10 Coach of the Year
Gary Heenan, Utica—ECAC West Coach of the Year & NCAA Semifinalist
Matt Loen, UW-Eau Claire—NCHA Coach of the Year & NCAA Semifinalist
Mike McShane, Norwich—ECAC East, NCAA Semifinalist*
Craig Russell, Plymouth State—MASCAC Coach of the Year
Doug Schueller, St. John's—MIAC Coach of the Year
Chris Schultz, Geneseo—SUNYAC Coach of the Year
Kevin Swallow, Nichols—ECAC Northeast Co-Coach of the Year
* Past Jeremiah Award Winner

Previous Winners of the Edward Jeremiah Award
(Division III Coach of the Year)
1970 Sid Watson, Bowdoin   1991 Glenn Thomaris, Elmira
1971 Sid Watson, Bowdoin   1992 Bruce Marshall, Connecticut
1972 Jack Canniff, Massachusetts   1993 Joe Baldarotta, WI-Stevens Point
1973 Jim Cross, Vermont   1994 Jeff Meredith, Fredonia
1974 Barry Urbanski, Boston State   1995 Bill Beaney, Middlebury
1975 Wendall Forbes, Middlebury   1996 Dean Talafous, WI-River Falls
1976 Don Roberts, Gustavus Adolphus   1997 Mike McShane, Norwich
1977 Bill Riley, Jr., Lowell   1998 Mike Schwartz, Augsburg
1978 Sid Watson, Bowdoin   1999 Mike McShane, Norwich
1979 Don Brose, Mankato State   2000 Mike McShane, Norwich
1980 Steve Stirling, Babson   2001 Wayne Wilson, RIT
1981 Herb Hammond, Plattsburgh State   2002 Dan Stauber, WI-Superior
1982 Steve Stirling, Babson   2003 George Roll, Oswego State
1983 Mike Gibbons, Bemidji State   2004 Bill Beaney, Middlebury
  Peter Van Buskirk, Holy Cross   2005 Terry Skrypek, St. Thomas
1984 Bob Peters, Bemidji State   2006 Bill Beaney, Middlebury
1985 Rob Riley, Babson   2007 Ed Gosek, Oswego State
1986 Terry Meagher, Bowdoin   2008 Tim Coghlin, St. Norbert College
1987 Tony Mariano, Norwich   2009 Dominick Dawes, Neumann College
1988 Glenn Thomaris, Elmira   2010 Mike McShane, Norwich
1989 Terry Meagher, Bowdoin   2011 Tim Coghlin, St. Norbert College
1990 Bill Beaney, Middlebury   2012 Jack Arena, Amherst College