March 11, 2013

Ten players who have distinguished themselves on the ice in 2012-13 have been named finalists for the 2013 Sid Watson Award, given annually to the best NCAA Division III men's ice hockey player in the country. Four of the finalists have advanced to the NCAA Division III Men's Ice Hockey semifinals being played this weekend at Herb Brooks Arena in Lake Placid, NY. They are Utica sophomore forward Louie Educate, Norwich senior forward Colin Mulvey, Oswego State senior forward Paul Rodrigues and UW-Eau Claire senior goalie Brandon Stephenson.

Sponsored by the American Hockey Coaches Association, the Watson Award honors the memory of former Bowdoin College head coach and athletic director Sid Watson. A three-time AHCA Coach of the Year, Watson served Bowdoin for more than 30 years, winning 326 games in 24 seasons as head coach.

The recipient of this year's Watson Award will be announced this Thursday, March 14, during the 2013 NCAA Division III Men's Championship student-athlete banquet in Lake Placid, NY.

2012-2013 Finalists for the Sid Watson Award

Keith Buehler, Junior, Forward, Wesleyan
(Skaneateles, New York)
2012-13 NESCAC Player of the Year

Joseph Caveney, Senior, Forward, Fitchburg State
(Fitchburg, Massachusetts)
2012-13 MASCAC Player of the Year

Louie Educate, Sophomore, Forward, Utica College
(Chicago, Illinois)
2012-13 ECAC West Player of the Year

Zach Graham, Senior, Forward, Adrian College
(Palmerston, Ontario)
2012-13 MCHA Player of the Year; 2012 Sid Watson Finalist

Jeff Harris, Junior, Forward, St. Olaf College
(Simi Valley, California)
2012-13 MIAC Co-Player of the Year

Shaun Jameson, Senior, Defenseman, Wentworth
(Long Beach, CA)
2012-13 ECAC Northeast Player of the Year

Colin Mulvey, Senior, Forward, Norwich University
(Worcester, Massachusetts)
2012-13 ECAC East Player of the Year

Paul Rodrigues, Senior, Forward, Oswego State
(Etobicoke, Ontario)
2012-13 SUNYAC Player of the Year

Brandon Stephenson, Senior, Goalie, UW-Eau Claire
(Saline, Michigan)
2012-13 NCHA Player of the Year

Saxton Soley, First-Year, Goalie, St. John's University
(Elk Mound, Wisconsin)
2012-13 MIAC Co-Player of the Year

Previous Winners of the Sid Watson Award
AHCA Men’s Ice Hockey College Player of the Year
1993 Frank Cirone Wisconsin-Stevens Point Forward
1994 Ray Alcindor Middlebury Forward
1995 Charlie Gaffney Bowdoin Forward
1996 Ian Smith Middlebury Defense
1997 Steve Toll RIT Forward
1998 Mark Spence Middlebury Forward
1999 Rob Smillie St. Norbert Forward
2000 Steve Aronson St. Thomas Forward
2001 Keith Aucoin Norwich Forward
2002 Jerry Galway RIT Defense
2003 Maris Ziedins St. Norbert Forward
2004 Kevin Cooper Middlebury Forward
2005 Kurtis McLean Norwich Forward
2006 Adam Hanna St. John's Goalie
2007 Andrew Gallant Manhattanville Goalie
2008 Kyle Jones St. Norbert Goalie
2009 Jeff Landers Amherst Defense
2010 David Martinson Gustavus Adolphus Forward
2011 Chris Berenguer Hamline Defense
2012 Jonathan LaRose Amherst Goalie