March 14, 2013
Matt Loen of Wisconsin-Eau Claire is named flexxCOACH/AHCA Division III Men's Ice Hockey Coach of the Year
Edward Jeremiah Award to be Presented on May 4 in Naples, FL

LAKE PLACID, NY — University of Wisconsin-Eau Claire head coach Matt Loen has done what no other coach has done in school history – guided his team to the NCAA Division III Men's Championship semifinals. In fact, his 2013 team is the first in school history to win an NCAA playoff game and win a Northern Collegiate Hockey Association regular-season championship.

And for his efforts, Loen has been named the winner of the Edward Jeremiah Award, given to the NCAA Division III Men's Coach of the Year.

This year's team was selected to the NCAA Division III Men's Ice Hockey Championship for just the second time in program history and the first time since 1989. Coming into this season, the Blugolds had one national title to their name, an NAIA title in 1984, but had never won a conference championship.

In just six years as the Blugolds' head coach, Loen has compiled an 82-72-12 record, just six wins short of the most wins by any coach in school history. Ian Perrin, who coached the Blugolds from 1990 to 1999, had an 88-139-14 record, a .394 winning percentage. Loen, on the other hand, has a winning percentage of .530, the best in school history.

The Blugolds currently hold a 22-5-2 record, the most win in school history. Previously, the most wins were 18 in 1990 as the Blugolds finished the year 18-13-3. Five losses this season is also a new low for the team. This is the third consecutive winning season for the team, the longest streak in school history, and over the last four years the team has compiled a 58-43-10 record, the most wins in a four year period ever.

Loen was named the NCHA Coach of the Year this season, his second coach of the year selection in the past three years (also won in 2011). He is the only person in the history of the league to win Coach of the Year and Player of the Year honors as he was also the conference's Player of the Year in 1995.

The Edward Jeremiah Award is named in honor of the great Dartmouth College head coach and was first presented in 1970. The runners-up for this year's Edward Jeremiah Award are Gary Heenan of Utica College and Ed Gosek of Oswego State (the 2007 recipient).

The Coach of the Year Awards are chosen by members of the American Hockey Coaches Association (AHCA). Winners will receive their awards at the annual AHCA Celebration of Men's Ice Hockey Banquet, held in conjunction with the AHCA Convention in Naples, FL. This year's banquet is scheduled for Saturday, May 4. All AHCA Coach of the Year awards are selected by the head coaches in each division and are sponsored by flexxCOACH, the leader in delivering on-line coaching education for sports and the development of software products designed to assist coaches in creating drills, planning practices and designing fitness programs for athlete development.

Winners of the Edward Jeremiah Award
(Division III Coach of the Year)
1970 Sid Watson, Bowdoin   1992 Bruce Marshall, Connecticut
1971 Sid Watson, Bowdoin   1993 Joe Baldarotta, WI-Stevens Point
1972 Jack Canniff, Massachusetts   1994 Jeff Meredith, Fredonia
1973 Jim Cross, Vermont   1995 Bill Beaney, Middlebury
1974 Barry Urbanski, Boston State   1996 Dean Talafous, WI-River Falls
1975 Wendall Forbes, Middlebury   1997 Mike McShane, Norwich
1976 Don Roberts, Gustavus Adolphus   1998 Mike Schwartz, Augsburg
1977 Bill Riley, Jr., Lowell   1999 Mike McShane, Norwich
1978 Sid Watson, Bowdoin   2000 Mike McShane, Norwich
1979 Don Brose, Mankato State   2001 Wayne Wilson, RIT
1980 Steve Stirling, Babson   2002 Dan Stauber, WI-Superior
1981 Herb Hammond, Plattsburgh State   2003 George Roll, Oswego State
1982 Steve Stirling, Babson   2004 Bill Beaney, Middlebury
1983 Mike Gibbons, Bemidji State   2005 Terry Skrypek, St. Thomas
  Peter Van Buskirk, Holy Cross   2006 Bill Beaney, Middlebury
1984 Bob Peters, Bemidji State   2007 Ed Gosek, Oswego State
1985 Rob Riley, Babson   2008 Tim Coghlin, St. Norbert College
1986 Terry Meagher, Bowdoin   2009 Dominick Dawes, Neumann College
1987 Tony Mariano, Norwich   2010 Mike McShane, Norwich
1988 Glenn Thomaris, Elmira   2011 Tim Coghlin, St. Norbert College
1989 Terry Meagher, Bowdoin   2012 Jack Arena, Amherst College
1990 Bill Beaney, Middlebury   2013 Matt Loen, UW-Eau Claire
1991 Glenn Thomaris, Elmira