March 14, 2013
Teal Gove of Plattsburgh State is D-III Women's Player of the Year
Laura Hurd Award Winner To Compete this Weekend in NCAA Championship

SUPERIOR, WI — Teal Gove, a senior forward from Plattsburgh State and Berwick, Ontario, has been named the winner of the 2013 Laura Hurd Award, given by the American Hockey Coaches Association to the NCAA Division III Women's Ice Hockey Player of the Year. Gove has recorded 27 goals and 21 assists for 48 points through 27 games this year. She will lead her Cardinals against Middlebury College in one of Friday's semifinal games at the 2013 NCAA Division III Women's Ice Hockey Championship.

"Teal has been our best and most productive player over the past two seasons," said Plattsburgh State head coach Kevin Houle. "In her final season, Teal has produced career highs in all offensive categories to secure her spot as one of the top five offensive players in program history. She has been a First Team All-American, a two-time ECAC West First Team All-Conference selection and has been named ECAC West Player of the Year twice. Teal's accolades and performance speak for themselves but beyond that, she is the unquestionable leader of our team. She is a true role model to all as every single player looks up to her and respects her.

"Teal is not only our best player, but also our most dedicated player both on and off the ice, leading both by example and with her voice. Teal is without question the nicest individual and one of the very best captains I have ever coached. She is sincere, always thinks of others and is truly a selfless individual."

Gove is a Biology Major and carries a cumulative 3.83 GPA, which includes three consecutive 4.0 semesters. She is involved in the local and campus community serving as a Student Ambassador on campus as well as volunteering at the local hospital. Gove has also volunteered many hours with the PYH Learn to Skate Program.

The runner-up for this year's Hurd Award was Geneva Lloyd, a senior defenseman from Amherst College and Calgary, Alberta.

The award is named in honor of former Elmira College star Laura Hurd who died in a car accident shortly after graduation. Hurd was a four-time All-American who led Elmira to victory in the first NCAA Division III Women's Ice Hockey Championship.

Winners of the Laura Hurd Award
AHCA Women’s Ice Hockey College Player of the Year
2000 Sylvia Ryan Middlebury Forward
2001 Michelle Labbe Middlebury Forward
2002 Sarah Moe Gustavus Adolphus Forward
2003 Angela Kapus Middlebury Forward/Defense
2004 Molly Wasserman Williams Forward
2005 Laura Hurd Elmira Forward
2006 Emily Quizon Middlebury Forward
2007 Andrea Peterson Gustavus Adolphus Defense
2008 Danielle Blanchard Plattsburgh Forward
2009 Kayla Coady Elmira Forward
2010 Isabel Iwachiw Trinity Goaltender
2011 Sarah Dagg RIT Goaltender
2012 Julie Fortier Norwich Forward
2013 Teal Gove Plattsburgh Forward