March 14, 2013
Kevin Houle of Plattsburgh State is flexxCOACH/AHCA Division III Women's Ice Hockey Coach of the Year

SUPERIOR, WI — Kevin Houle of SUNY Plattsburgh has been named AHCA flexxCOACH national Division III Women's Coach of the Year for the fourth time in his career. The announcement was made at the student-athlete banquet for the 2013 NCAA Division III Women's Ice Hockey Championship being played in Superior, WI.

In the 2012-13 season, Houle has led the Cardinals to 26-0-2 record and their third ECAC Women's West Championship. Houle also received his fifth conference coach of the year citation in a year that saw Plattsburgh State atop the national polls for 13-straight weeks. Plattsburgh landed four All-ECAC West First Team selections this season, including ECAC West Player of the Year, Teal Gove, and ECAC West Goalie of the Year, Sydney Aveson. With Houle at the helm, the Cardinals are making their ninth NCAA championship appearance and their seventh trip to the NCAA Division III Women's Ice Hockey Championship.

Houle is completing his 10th year at Plattsburgh State, having compiled a career record of 232-38-19 in that time. His winning percentage of .836 is the highest of all active NCAA women's coaches. A 1986 graduate of Boston College, Houle has enjoyed extensive coaching experience with USA Hockey at the international level in addition to his college work. His previous AHCA Coach of the Year awards came in 2006, 2007 and 2008, the Cardinals winning the NCAA title in the latter two years.

The runner-up for this year's award was Mike Carroll of Gustavus Adolphus College.

The Coach of the Year Awards are chosen by members of the American Hockey Coaches Association (AHCA). Winners will receive their awards at the annual AHCA Celebration of Women's Ice Hockey Banquet, held in conjunction with the AHCA Convention in Naples, FL. This year's banquet is scheduled for Friday, May 3. All AHCA Coach of the Year awards are selected by the head coaches in each division and are sponsored by flexxCOACH, the leader in delivering on-line coaching education for sports and the development of software products designed to assist coaches in creating drills, planning practices and designing fitness programs for athlete development.

Winners of the Women's Division III Coach of the Year Award
2000 Ted Wisner, Colgate   2007 Kevin Houle, Plattsburgh State
2001 Bill Mandigo, Middlebury   2008 Kevin Houle, Plattsburgh State
2002 Jamie Wood, Elmira   2009 Jim Plumer. Amherst College
2003 Michele Amidon, Bowdoin   2010 Mark Bolding, Norwich
2004 Bill Mandigo, Middlebury   2011 Mark Bolding, Norwich
2005 Bill Mandigo, Middlebury   2012 Mark Bolding, Norwich
2006 Kevin Houle, Plattsburgh State   2013 Kevin Houle, Plattsburgh State