March 14, 2013
Paul Rodrigues of SUNY Oswego is D-III Ice Hockey Player of the Year
Sid Watson Award Winner is First from SUNYAC

LAKE PLACID, NY — Senior forward Paul Rodrigues of SUNY Oswego has been chosen by the nation's ice hockey coaches as the 2013 winner of the Sid Watson Award Award, symbolic of the nation's best Division III men's ice hockey player. The 5-10, 170-pound native of Etobicoke, Ontario, has helped Oswego to a 24-4-0 record and a berth in this weekend's NCAA Division III Men's Ice Hockey Championship at Lake Placid, NY. Oswego advanced to the semifinals with a 3-2 overtime win over Adrian College last weekend. They face Norwich University on Friday.

Rodrigues led the nation in scoring for most of the season, and enters the weekend with 15 goals and 30 assists for 45 points. He has raked in conference recognition having been named the SUNYAC Herb Hammond Player of the Year and First Team All-SUNYAC after pacing the league with 25 points (5 goals, 20 assists).

According to Oswego coach Ed Gosek, Rodrigues' value to the Laker men's hockey program goes much deeper than what can be seen on a stats sheet.

"His speed has allowed him to wreak havoc on the fore-check, make goalies think twice about playing the puck behind the net and torment the opposition's defenders from the first puck drop to the final horn," says Gosek. "His unselfishness and skill set make him a top scoring option on one of the most lethal power-play units in Division III. Paul's determination and tenacity also makes him a critical member of the penalty-kill unit, as well as one of Oswego State's top face-off players in its defensive zone. He plays every shift with the intensity that it may be his last."

Off the ice, Rodrigues boasts a 3.37 GPA majoring in criminal justice and is a three-time SUNYAC All-Academic Team and a SUNYAC Commissioner's List honoree. He regularly works with Oswego Minor Hockey teams throughout the year teaching skills and drills; he also participates in the annual Laker Holiday Skate that raises funds for the local United Way Chapter and takes part in the annual athletic department leaf-raking initiative that cleans up yards of local senior citizens.

The award is named in honor of former Bowdoin College head coach Sid Watson, a three-time winner of the Edward Jeremiah Award as Division III Coach of the Year. Watson won 326 at Bowdoin in a career that spanned from 1959 to 1983. He was also the school's athletic director.

The runners-up for the 2013 Sid Watson Award were Brandon Stephenson, a senior goalie from the University of Wisconsin-Eau Claire, and Colin Mulvey, a senior forward from Norwich University.

Winners of the Sid Watson Award
AHCA Men’s Ice Hockey College Player of the Year
1993 Frank Cirone Wisconsin-Stevens Point Forward
1994 Ray Alcindor Middlebury Forward
1995 Charlie Gaffney Bowdoin Forward
1996 Ian Smith Middlebury Defense
1997 Steve Toll RIT Forward
1998 Mark Spence Middlebury Forward
1999 Rob Smillie St. Norbert Forward
2000 Steve Aronson St. Thomas Forward
2001 Keith Aucoin Norwich Forward
2002 Jerry Galway RIT Defense
2003 Maris Ziedins St. Norbert Forward
2004 Kevin Cooper Middlebury Forward
2005 Kurtis McLean Norwich Forward
2006 Adam Hanna St. John's Goalie
2007 Andrew Gallant Manhattanville Goalie
2008 Kyle Jones St. Norbert Goalie
2009 Jeff Landers Amherst Defense
2010 David Martinson Gustavus Adolphus Forward
2011 Chris Berenguer Hamline Defense
2012 Jonathan LaRose Amherst Goalie
2013 Paul Rodrigues SUNY Oswego Forward