March 18, 2013
Minnesota's Brad Frost Named flexxCOACH/AHCA Division I Women's Coach of the Year

MINNEAPOLIS, MINNESOTA — For his efforts in leading the University of Minnesota to an undefeated regular season and into the 2013 NCAA National Collegiate Women's Championship semifinals, Brad Frost of the University of Minnesota has been named by his peers as the flexxCOACH/AHCA Division I Women's Coach of the Year for 2012-13. The Gophers, regular season and tournament champions in the WCHA, bring a phenomenal 39-0-0 record into Friday's semifinal match with Boston College. Win #39 was memorable as it came in triple overtime vs. WCHA rival North Dakota in the NCAA Quarterfinals. The NCAA Championship will take place on the Gophers' home ice, Ridder Arena, where Minnesota is 21-0-0 this season.

Frost, who was the runner-up for this award last year, first came to Minnesota in 2000 as an assistant coach to Laura Halldorson, recipient of this award in 1998, 2002 and 2004. He was named head coach in the summer of 2007 and in his six seasons in charge of the program he has compiled a mark of 184- 36-16 (.814). His Gophers won the 2012 NCAA National Collegiate Women's Championship and are looking to repeat.

A 1996 graduate of Bethel College, Frost was a four-year letterwinner in hockey and a two-year letterwinner in golf. His 119 career points rank eighth in school history. Following graduation, Frost got his start in coaching with the Eagan (MN) High School girls program and then spent a year with the Beth College men. He has had extensive experience coaching with USA Hockey at the international level as well.

Frost was assisted this season by Joel Johnson, Nadine Muzerall and Andy Kent. The runners-up for this year's flexxCOACH/ AHCA Division I Women's Coach of the Year Award were Brian Durocher of Boston University and Katie King Crowley of Boston College, both coaching NCAA semifinalists this weekend.

The flexxCOACH/AHCA Coach of the Year Award winners are chosen by members of the American Hockey Coaches Association (AHCA). Winners will receive their awards at the annual AHCA "Celebration of Women's Hockey" Banquet, held in conjunction with the AHCA Convention in Naples, FL. This year's event is scheduled for Friday, May 3.

Winners of the Women's Division I Coach of the Year
1998 Laura Halldorson, Minnesota   2006 Mark Johnson, Wisconsin
1999 Katey Stone, Harvard   2007 Mark Johnson, Wisconsin
2000 Judy Oberting, Dartmouth   2008 Jim Fetter, Wayne State
2001 Paul Flanagan, St. Lawrence   2009 Mark Johnson, Wisconsin
2002 Laura Halldorson, Minnesota   2010 Doug Derraugh, Cornell
2003 Shannon Miller, Minnesota-Duluth   2011 Mark Johnson, Wisconsin
2004 Laura Halldorson, Minnesota   2012 Chris Wells, St. Lawrence
2005 Mike Sisti, Mercyhurst   2013 Brad Frost, Minnesota