April 3, 2013
Finalists Announced for Spencer Penrose Award Given to flexxCOACH/AHCA Men's Hockey Division I Coach of the Year

Seven coaches who have enjoyed on-ice success in 2012-13 have been named finalists for the Spencer Penrose Award, given annually to the NCAA Division I Men's Ice Hockey Coach of the Year. Voting will be conducted prior to this year's Frozen Four in Pittsburgh, PA, and the winner will be announced on Wednesday, April 10.

The nominees represent any coach who won or shared Coach of the Year honors in his conference this past season, along with coaches whose teams have advanced to the NCAA Division I Men's Ice Hockey semifinals. Of this year's finalists, only one is a past recipient of this award, Miami University head coach Enrico Blasi, who won in 2006.

The Spencer Penrose Award is named in memory of the Colorado Springs benefactor who built the Broadmoor Hotel Complex, site of the first ten NCAA championship hockey tournaments. The actual award will be presented at the AHCA Coach of the Year Banquet in Naples, Florida, on Saturday evening, May 4. The AHCA Coach of the Year Awards are chosen by members of the American Hockey Coaches Association and sponsored by FlexxCoach, a leader in the creation and distribution of drills and general hockey instruction to coaches across the country.

2012-13 AHCA Men's Ice Hockey
Spencer Penrose Award Finalists
(flexxCOACH/AHCA Division I Coach of the Year)

Keith Allain, Yale, ECAC, NCAA Semifinalist
Norm Bazin, UMass-Lowell, HE Coach of the Year, NCAA Semifinalist
Enrico Blasi, Miami, CCHA Coach of the Year*
Dave Burkholder, Niagara, AHA Coach of the Year
Mike Hastings, Minnesota State, WCHA Coach of the Year
Bob Motzko, St. Cloud State, WCHA, NCAA Semifinalist
Rand Pecknold, Quinnipiac, ECAC Coach of the Year, NCAA Semifinalist
* Past Spencer Penrose Award Winner

Winners of the Spencer Penrose Award
(Division I Coach of the Year)
1951 Edward Jeremiah, Dartmouth   1982 Ferny Flaman, Northeastern
1952 Cheddy Thompson, Colorado College   1983 Bill Cleary, Harvard
1953 John Mariucci, Minnesota   1984 Mike Sertich, Minnesota-Duluth
1954 Vic Heyliger, Michigan   1985 Len Ceglarski, Boston College
1955 Ralph "Cooney" Weiland, Harvard   1986 Ralph Backstrom, Denver
1956 William Harrison, Clarkson   1987 John "Gino" Gasparini, North Dakota
1957 Jack Riley, Army   1988 Frank Anzalone, Lake Superior
1958 Harry Cleverly, Boston University   1989 Joe Marsh, St. Lawrence
1959 John "Snooks" Kelley, Boston College   1990 Terry Slater, Colgate
1960 Jack Riley, Army   1991 Rick Comley, Northern Michigan
1961 Murray Armstrong, Denver   1992 Ron Mason, Michigan State
1962 Jack Kelley, Colby   1993 George Gwozdecky, Miami
1963 Tony Frasca, Colorado College   1994 Don Lucia, Colorado College
1964 Tom Eccleston, Jr., Providence   1995 Shawn Walsh, Maine
1965 Jim Fullerton, Brown   1996 Bruce Crowder, UMass Lowell
1966 Amo Bessone, Michigan State
Len Ceglarski, Clarkson
  1997 Dean Blais, North Dakota
1967 Edward Jeremiah, Dartmouth   1998 Tim Taylor, Yale
1968 Ned Harkness, Cornell   1999 Richard Umile, New Hampshire
1969 Charlie Holt, New Hampshire   2000 Joe Marsh, St. Lawrence
1970 John Maclnnes, Michigan Tech   2001 Dean Blais, North Dakota
1971 Ralph "Cooney" Weiland, Harvard   2002 Tim Whitehead, Maine
1972 John "Snooks" Kelley, Boston College   2003 Bob Daniels, Ferris State
1973 Len Ceglarski, Boston College   2004 Scott Sandelin, Minnesota-Duluth
1974 Charlie Holt, New Hampshire   2005 George Gwozdecky, Denver
1975 Jack Parker, Boston University   2006 Enrico Blasi, Miami
1976 John Maclnnes, Michigan Tech   2007 Jeff Jackson, Notre Dame
1977 Jerry York, Clarkson   2008 Red Berenson, Michigan
1978 Jack Parker, Boston University   2009 Jack Parker, Boston University
1979 Charlie Holt, New Hampshire   2010 Wayne Wilson, RIT
1980 Rick Comley, Northern Michigan   2011 Nate Leaman, Union
1981 Bill O'Flaherty, Clarkson   2012 Bob Daniels, Ferris State