April 10, 2013
Norm Bazin of UMass Lowell Named flexxCOACH/AHCA Men's Division I Coach of the Year
Will Receive Spencer Penrose Award at AHCA Convention on May 4 in Naples, FL

For his efforts in leading UMass Lowell to its first NCAA Division I Men's Ice Hockey "Frozen Four" appearance in school history, Norm Bazin has been chosen winner of the 2013 Spencer Penrose Award as Division I Men's Ice Hockey flexxCOACH/AHCA Coach of the Year. He will receive his award on Saturday evening, May 4, during the American Hockey Coaches Association annual convention in Naples, FL.

Entering Thursday afternoon's semifinal contest vs. Yale, Bazin's River Hawks have compiled an overall record of 28-10-2, capturing both the Hockey East regular season and tournament titles along the way. Lowell advanced to the Frozen Four by defeating Wisconsin (6-1) and New Hampshire (2-0) to win the NCAA Northeast Regional in Manchester, NH.

The River Hawks enter the Frozen Four in Pittsburgh's CONSOL Energy Center having won 14 of their last 15 games and seven in a row. On December 1, the UMass Lowell record stood at 4-7-1. Since that time, they have gone 24-3-1.

Bazin has been chosen as the Hockey East Coach of the Year in both of his seasons at Lowell. This follows two years as the NESCAC Coach of the Year while he coached at Hamilton College. Overall, in five years as a head coach, his career record is 90-54-10.

A 1994 graduate of Lowell, Bazin was a 20-goal scorer as a senior, recording career numbers of 32-36-68 in 136 games. A native of Notre Dame de Lourdes, Manitoba, Bazin was a Dean's List student in each of his eight semesters at Lowell, earning a degree in criminal justice in just three and a half years. Following a brief playing career in the ECHL and IHL, Bazin started coaching as Tim Whitehead's assistant at Lowell from 1996-2000. He followed that experience with eight years at Colorado College, recruiting 13 All-Americans and two Hobey Baker Award winners.

His first head coaching job came at Hamilton in 2008-09, where he was 38-31-7 in three seasons.

His inaugural year at UMass Lowell produced the largest turnaround in NCAA Division I history as he took a program that had won five games in 2010-11 and delivered a 24-13-1 season and an NCAA Tournament berth. Assisting Bazin this season were Jason Lammers, Cam Ellsworth and Dan Darrow. All four will be recognized in Naples, Florida, in May.

The runners-up for this year's AHCA Men's Division I Coach of the Year award were Rand Pecknold of Quinnipiac University and Bob Motzko of St. Cloud State University.

The Spencer Penrose Award is named in memory of the Colorado Springs benefactor who built the Broadmoor Hotel Complex, site of the first ten NCAA championship hockey tournaments. All AHCA Coach of the Year awards are selected by the head coaches in each division and are sponsored by flexxCOACH, the leader in delivering online coaching education for sports and the development of software products designed to assist coaches in creating drills, planning practices and designing fitness programs for athlete development.

Winners of the Spencer Penrose Award
(Division I Coach of the Year)
1951 Edward Jeremiah, Dartmouth   1983 Bill Cleary, Harvard
1952 Cheddy Thompson, Colorado College   1984 Mike Sertich, Minnesota-Duluth
1953 John Mariucci, Minnesota   1985 Len Ceglarski, Boston College
1954 Vic Heyliger, Michigan   1986 Ralph Backstrom, Denver
1955 Ralph "Cooney" Weiland, Harvard   1987 John "Gino" Gasparini, North Dakota
1956 William Harrison, Clarkson   1988 Frank Anzalone, Lake Superior
1957 Jack Riley, Army   1989 Joe Marsh, St. Lawrence
1958 Harry Cleverly, Boston University   1990 Terry Slater, Colgate
1959 John "Snooks" Kelley, Boston College   1991 Rick Comley, Northern Michigan
1960 Jack Riley, Army   1992 Ron Mason, Michigan State
1961 Murray Armstrong, Denver   1993 George Gwozdecky, Miami
1962 Jack Kelley, Colby   1994 Don Lucia, Colorado College
1963 Tony Frasca, Colorado College   1995 Shawn Walsh, Maine
1964 Tom Eccleston, Jr., Providence   1996 Bruce Crowder, UMass Lowell
1965 Jim Fullerton, Brown   1997 Dean Blais, North Dakota
1966 Amo Bessone, Michigan State
Len Ceglarski, Clarkson
  1998 Tim Taylor, Yale
1967 Edward Jeremiah, Dartmouth   1999 Richard Umile, New Hampshire
1968 Ned Harkness, Cornell   2000 Joe Marsh, St. Lawrence
1969 Charlie Holt, New Hampshire   2001 Dean Blais, North Dakota
1970 John Maclnnes, Michigan Tech   2002 Tim Whitehead, Maine
1971 Ralph "Cooney" Weiland, Harvard   2003 Bob Daniels, Ferris State
1972 John "Snooks" Kelley, Boston College   2004 Scott Sandelin, Minnesota-Duluth
1973 Len Ceglarski, Boston College   2005 George Gwozdecky, Denver
1974 Charlie Holt, New Hampshire   2006 Enrico Blasi, Miami
1975 Jack Parker, Boston University   2007 Jeff Jackson, Notre Dame
1976 John Maclnnes, Michigan Tech   2008 Red Berenson, Michigan
1977 Jerry York, Clarkson   2009 Jack Parker, Boston University
1978 Jack Parker, Boston University   2010 Wayne Wilson, RIT
1979 Charlie Holt, New Hampshire   2011 Nate Leaman, Union
1980 Rick Comley, Northern Michigan   2012 Bob Daniels, Ferris State
1981 Bill O'Flaherty, Clarkson   2013 Norm Bazin, UMass Lowell
1982 Ferny Flaman, Northeastern