February 18, 2014
STX to Sponsor College Hockey's Coach of the Year Awards
Four NCAA Coaches to Be Recognized by Peers as Nation's Best

The Officers and Governors of the American Hockey Coaches Association (AHCA) have announced that their Coach of the Year awards will be sponsored by STX, a nationally recognized leader in the sporting goods field. AHCA members choose four national (NCAA) Coach of the Year award recipients: Men's Division I (The Spencer Penrose Award), Men's Division III (The Edward Jeremiah Award), Women's Division I and Women's Division III. The awards are presenetd each year at the AHCA Convention in Naples, Florida, at separate events for men and women, sponsored by USA Hockey.

"We are so pleased that STX has shown an interest in parternering with us on these awards," said AHCA Executive Director Joe Bertagna. "They are a leader in their field and we think it is a good fit that they will help us honor the best in the field of intercollegiate ice hockey."

Any NCAA head coach who receives his or her conference Coach of the Year award is automatically placed on the national ballot in their division, along with any head coach who takes their team to the NCAA semifinals. Head coaches then vote from this ballot and the results are announced in conjunction with the respective NCAA Championships.

"We are incredibly honored to provide sponsorship to the AHCA for the Coach of the Year Awards, "said Matt Hoppe, Senior Brand Manager with STX, "Being able to provide support to college hockey and the incredible men and women who dedicate their lives to coaching the game is a real honor. We look forward to congratulating the winners down in Florida."

STX is a global sporting goods leader in the sports of lacrosse, field hockey, golf, and hockey. With its 1970 introduction of the first synthetic lacrosse head, STX ushered in the "modern era" of what is now the fastest growing team sport. Based in Baltimore, the home of lacrosse, STX has been universally recognized for innovation in product design and development. STX continues to strive for new performance standards in sporting goods equipment at the highest levels of competition. For more information, visit http://www.stx.com.

The American Hockey Coaches Association was formed in 1947 and fosters growth and sportsmanship within the game of ice hockey. In addition to NCAA coaches, the 1400+ members of the AHCA include more than 400 non-varsity college coaches from the American Collegiate Hockey Association, along with coaches representing amateur and professional hockey at all levels of the sport in the United States. The STX Women's Coach of the Year Awards will be presented on Friday, May 2, at the Naples Beach Hotel and Golf Club, with the STX Men's Coach of the Year Awards presented the following night.