March 17, 2014

Six players who have distinguished themselves on the ice in 2013-14 have been named finalists for the 2014 Laura Hurd Award, given annually to the best NCAA Division III women's ice hockey player in the country. The list of finalists includes two players who led their teams into the 2014 NCAA Division III Women's Ice Hockey Championship in Plattsburgh, NY, this weekend. They are Sydney Aveson, a senior goaltender from Plattsburgh State, and Tori Charron, a senior forward from Norwich University.

Sponsored by the American Hockey Coaches Association, the Hurd Award honors the memory of former Elmira College standout Laura Hurd. A 2005 graduate of Elmira, and a four-time All-American, Hurd died in an automobile accident shortly after graduation. She was the recipient of the AHCA Player of the Year Award in 2005.

The recipient of this year's Hurd Award will be announced this Thursday evening during the student-athlete banquet at the NCAA Division III Women's Ice Hockey Championship in Plattsburgh, NY.

Finalists for the 2013-14 Laura Hurd Award
AHCA Women's Ice Hockey College Division Player of the Year

Sydney Aveson, Senior, Goaltender, Plattsburgh State
(West Covina, California)
2013-14 ECAC West Player of the Year

Cristina Bravi, Senior, Forward, Williams College
(Montreal, Quebec)
2013-14 NESCAC Player of the Year

Tori Charron, Senior, Forward, Norwich University
(Tecumseh, Ontario)*
2013-14 ECAC East Player of the Year

Michelle Greeneway, Sophomore, Forward, Lake Forest College
(Sheboygan, Wisconsin)
2013-14 NCHA Player of the Year

Cristina Masten, Senior, Forward, Bethel College
(Fergus Falls, Minnesota)
2013-14 MIAC Player of the Year

Cassandra Salmen, Senior, Forward, UW-Stevens Point
(Stillwater, Minnesota)
2013-14 WIAC Player of the Year

* Repeat finalist

Previous Winners of the Laura Hurd Award
AHCA Women’s Ice Hockey College Player of the Year
2000 Sylvia Ryan Middlebury Forward
2001 Michelle Labbe Middlebury Forward
2002 Sarah Moe Gustavus Adolphus Forward
2003 Angela Kapus Middlebury Forward/Defense
2004 Molly Wasserman Williams Forward
2005 Laura Hurd Elmira Forward
2006 Emily Quizon Middlebury Forward
2007 Andrea Peterson Gustavus Adolphus Defense
2008 Danielle Blanchard Plattsburgh Forward
2009 Kayla Coady Elmira Forward
2010 Isabel Iwachiw Trinity Goaltender
2011 Sarah Dagg RIT Forward
2012 Julie Fortier Norwich Forward
2013 Teal Gove Plattsburgh Forward