March 17, 2014

Eight players who have distinguished themselves on the ice in 2013-14 have been named finalists for the 2014 Sid Watson Award, given annually to the best NCAA Division III men's ice hockey player in the country. Three of the finalists have advanced to the NCAA Division III Men's Ice Hockey semifinals being played this weekend at the Androscoggin Bank Colisee in Lewiston, Maine. They are junior goaltender David Jacobson of St. Norbert College, juniorforward Garrett Ladd of Wisconsin- Stevens Point, and andsenior forward Zachary Vit of Geneseo State.

Sponsored by the American Hockey Coaches Association, the Watson Award honors the memory of former Bowdoin College head coach and athletic director Sid Watson. A three-time AHCA Coach of the Year, Watson served Bowdoin for more than 30 years, winning 326 games in 24 seasons as head coach.

The recipient of this year's Watson Award will be announced this Thursday, March 20, during the 2014 NCAA Division III Men's Championship student-athlete banquet in Lewiston, Maine.

2013-2014 Finalists for the Sid Watson Award

Jackson Brewer, Junior, Forward, Trinity College
(Newton, Massachusetts)
NESCAC Player of the Year

Drew Fielding, Junior, Goalie, University of St. Thomas
(Burlington, Ontario)
MIAC Co-Player of the Year

David Jacobson, Junior, Goalie, St. Norbert College
(Janesville, Wisconsin)
NCHA Player of the Year

Garrett Ladd, Junior, Forward, UW-Stevens Point
(Fenton, Michigan)
WIAC Player of the Year

Jamie Murray, Sophomore, Goalie, Babson College
(Scituate, Massachusetts)
ECAC East Player of the Year

Josh Obregon, Sophomore, Forward, Johnson & Wales
(Omaha, Nebraska)
ECAC Northeast Player of the Year

Caleb Suderman, Senior, Defenseman, Concordia (MN) College
(Winkler, Manitoba)
MIAC Co-Player of the Year

Zachary Vit, Senior, Forward, Geneseo State
(Villanova, Pennsylvania)
SUNYAC Player of the Year

Previous Winners of the Sid Watson Award
AHCA Men’s Ice Hockey College Player of the Year
1993 Frank Cirone Wisconsin-Stevens Point Forward
1994 Ray Alcindor Middlebury Forward
1995 Charlie Gaffney Bowdoin Forward
1996 Ian Smith Middlebury Defense
1997 Steve Toll RIT Forward
1998 Mark Spence Middlebury Forward
1999 Rob Smillie St. Norbert Forward
2000 Steve Aronson St. Thomas Forward
2001 Keith Aucoin Norwich Forward
2002 Jerry Galway RIT Defense
2003 Maris Ziedins St. Norbert Forward
2004 Kevin Cooper Middlebury Forward
2005 Kurtis McLean Norwich Forward
2006 Adam Hanna St. John's Goalie
2007 Andrew Gallant Manhattanville Goalie
2008 Kyle Jones St. Norbert Goalie
2009 Jeff Landers Amherst Defense
2010 David Martinson Gustavus Adolphus Forward
2011 Chris Berenguer Hamline Defense
2012 Jonathan LaRose Amherst Goalie
2013 Paul Rodrigues SUNY Oswego Forward