March 20, 2014
Chris Schultz of Geneseo is named STX/AHCA Division III Men's Ice Hockey Coach of the Year
Edward Jeremiah Award to be Presented on May 3 in Naples, FL

LEWISTON, MAINE —The 2013-14 Geneseo State hockey team won the SUNYAC regular season title for the first time since 1991, setting a record for most conference wins (14) and fewest conference losses (2). And for his efforts in leading the way, coach Chris Schultz has been named the winner of the Edward Jeremiah Award, given to the NCAA Division III Men's Coach of the Year.

Geneseo enters this weekend's NCAA Division III semifinals with an overall record of 23-6-0, with a Friday afternoon (4:00) semifinal date with St. Norbert College at the Androscoggin Bank Colisee.

This season marked just the fifth time that a Geneseo team has reached the 20- win mark in program history and earned their fourth NCAA birth in program history. Five Geneseo players made the All-Conference teams including SUNYAC Player of the Year Zachary Vit, who has led the Ice Knights in scoring for four consecutive years.

In eight seasons at Geneseo, Schultz has compiled a career record of 120-84-7. Schultz's teams have earned home playoff positioning in seven of his eight seasons at the helm. A finalist for this award in 2011 and 2013, this is his first national coaching honor.

A native of Rochester, N.Y., Schultz was the assistant coach at Geneseo under current RIT associate coach Brian Hills for three seasons and returned to the program after three seasons as the head coach at his high school alma mater Aquinas Institute, a Rochester Catholic private school.

As a student-athlete, Schultz captained the 1995-96 and 1996-97 squads coached by Paul Duffy, scoring 26 goals and 29 assists in his career. Schultz was also a three-year member of the SUNYAC All-Academic Team. The Edward Jeremiah Award is named in honor of the great Dartmouth College head coach and was first presented in 1970. The runners-up for this year's Edward Jeremiah Award are Jamie Rice of Babson College and Ed Gosek of Oswego State (the 2007 recipient).

The Coach of the Year Awards are chosen by members of the American Hockey Coaches Association (AHCA). Winners will receive their awards at the annual AHCA Celebration of Men's Ice Hockey Banquet, held in conjunction with the AHCA Convention in Naples, FL. This year's banquet is scheduled for Saturday, May 3.

STX is a global sporting goods leader in the sports of lacrosse, field hockey, golf, and hockey. With its 1970 introduction of the first synthetic lacrosse head, STX ushered in the "modern era" of what is now the fastest growing team sport. Based in Baltimore, the home of lacrosse, STX has been universally recognized for innovation in product design and development. STX continues to strive for new performance standards in sporting goods equipment at the highest levels of competition. For more information, visit http://www.stx.com.

Winners of the Edward Jeremiah Award
(Division III Coach of the Year)
1970 Sid Watson, Bowdoin   1992 Bruce Marshall, Connecticut
1971 Sid Watson, Bowdoin   1993 Joe Baldarotta, WI-Stevens Point
1972 Jack Canniff, Massachusetts   1994 Jeff Meredith, Fredonia
1973 Jim Cross, Vermont   1995 Bill Beaney, Middlebury
1974 Barry Urbanski, Boston State   1996 Dean Talafous, WI-River Falls
1975 Wendall Forbes, Middlebury   1997 Mike McShane, Norwich
1976 Don Roberts, Gustavus Adolphus   1998 Mike Schwartz, Augsburg
1977 Bill Riley, Jr., Lowell   1999 Mike McShane, Norwich
1978 Sid Watson, Bowdoin   2000 Mike McShane, Norwich
1979 Don Brose, Mankato State   2001 Wayne Wilson, RIT
1980 Steve Stirling, Babson   2002 Dan Stauber, WI-Superior
1981 Herb Hammond, Plattsburgh State   2003 George Roll, Oswego State
1982 Steve Stirling, Babson   2004 Bill Beaney, Middlebury
1983 Mike Gibbons, Bemidji State   2005 Terry Skrypek, St. Thomas
  Peter Van Buskirk, Holy Cross   2006 Bill Beaney, Middlebury
1984 Bob Peters, Bemidji State   2007 Ed Gosek, Oswego State
1985 Rob Riley, Babson   2008 Tim Coghlin, St. Norbert College
1986 Terry Meagher, Bowdoin   2009 Dominick Dawes, Neumann College
1987 Tony Mariano, Norwich   2010 Mike McShane, Norwich
1988 Glenn Thomaris, Elmira   2011 Tim Coghlin, St. Norbert College
1989 Terry Meagher, Bowdoin   2012 Jack Arena, Amherst College
1990 Bill Beaney, Middlebury   2013 Matt Loen, UW-Eau Claire
1991 Glenn Thomaris, Elmira   2014 Chris Schultz, Geneseo