March 20, 2014
Sydney Aveson of Plattsburgh is D-III Women's Player of the Year
Laura Hurd Award Winner To Compete this Weekend in NCAA Championship

PLATTSBURGH, NY — Sydney Aveson, a senior goaltender from Plattsburgh State and West Covina, California, has been named the winner of the 2014 Laura Hurd Award, given by the American Hockey Coaches Association to the NCAA Division III Women's Ice Hockey Player of the Year. Aveson, a three-time All American and the ECAC West Player of the Year, has posted spectacular goaltending numbers this year: 20-1-1, 0.54 GAA and .971 save percentage.

She will lead her Cardinals against the University of St. Thomas in Friday's first semifinal game (3:30 p.m.) at the 2014 NCAA Division III Women's Ice Hockey Championship.

"Sydney Aveson has been the backbone of our team over the past three seasons," said Plattsburgh head coach Kevin Houle. "Syd has saved her best for last. This season she leads the nation in goals against average, save percentage and shutouts. She has broken several team and national records throughout this season. Sydney is also an outstanding individual, majoring in expeditionary studies. She is the only athlete at Plattsburgh to make it through the program, holding a GPA of 3.50.

"Syd is focused on her studies as she is on her play. She is the most competitive goalie I have ever coached. Sydney is active in the community, as she has volunteered at the Tramati Brain Injury Center on campus. She has also volunteered her time with the local youth programs as well as the soup kitchen here in Plattsburgh. She excels and gives 100% to whatever she does."

Aveson is the third Plattsburgh player to win this award, following Danielle Blanchard (current Plattsburgh assistant coach)in 2008 and Teal Gove last year. She is also just the second goaltender to win the award. The runner-up for this year's Hurd Award was Tori Charron, a senior forward from Norwich University and Tecumseh, Ontario.

The award is named in honor of former Elmira College star Laura Hurd who died in a car accident shortly after graduation. Hurd was a four-time All-American who led Elmira to victory in the first NCAA Division III Women's Ice Hockey Championship.

Winners of the Laura Hurd Award
AHCA Women’s Ice Hockey College Player of the Year
2000 Sylvia Ryan Middlebury Forward
2001 Michelle Labbe Middlebury Forward
2002 Sarah Moe Gustavus Adolphus Forward
2003 Angela Kapus Middlebury Forward/Defense
2004 Molly Wasserman Williams Forward
2005 Laura Hurd Elmira Forward
2006 Emily Quizon Middlebury Forward
2007 Andrea Peterson Gustavus Adolphus Defense
2008 Danielle Blanchard Plattsburgh Forward
2009 Kayla Coady Elmira Forward
2010 Isabel Iwachiw Trinity Goaltender
2011 Sarah Dagg RIT Forward
2012 Julie Fortier Norwich Forward
2013 Teal Gove Plattsburgh Forward
2014 Sydney Aveson Plattsburgh Goaltender