March 20, 2014
Minnesota's Brad Frost Repeats at STX/AHCA Division I Women's Coach of the Year

HAMDEN, CT — For his efforts in leading the University of Minnesota to a 37-1-1 record and into the 2014 NCAA National Collegiate Women's Championship semifinals, Brad Frost of the University of Minnesota has been named by his peers as the STX/AHCA Division I Women's Coach of the Year for 2013-14. Frost, who first won this award a year ago, brings the two-time defending NCAA champions to High Point Solutions Arena on the campus of Quinnipiac University for a semifinal match-up with WCHA rival Wisconsin this Friday at 5:00 p.m. The Gophers, whose 62-game win streak was snapped on November 17, are riding a 24-0-1 streak since then. Over their last eight games, they have gone 8-0 and outscored opponents 39-5.

Frost first came to Minnesota in 2000 as an assistant coach to Laura Halldorson, recipient of this award in 1998, 2002 and 2004. He was named head coach in the summer of 2007 and in his seven seasons in charge of the program he has compiled a mark of 223-37-17 (.836). His Gophers won the 2012 NCAA National Collegiate Women's Championship and repeated at home in 2013.

A 1996 graduate of Bethel College, Frost was a four-year letterwinner in hockey and a two-year letterwinner in golf. His 119 career points rank eighth in school history. Following graduation, Frost got his start in coaching with the Eagan (MN) High School girls program and then spent a year with the Bethel College men. He has had extensive experience coaching with USA Hockey at the international level as well.

Frost was assisted this season by Joel Johnson, Nadine Muzerall and Andy Kent. The runners-up for this year's STX/AHCA Division I Women's Coach of the Year Award were Matt and Shannon Desrosiers of Clarkson University, also an NCAA semifinalist this weekend.

The STX/AHCA Coach of the Year Award winners are chosen by members of the American Hockey Coaches Association (AHCA). Winners will receive their awards at the annual AHCA "Celebration of Women's Hockey" Banquet, held in conjunction with the AHCA Convention in Naples, FL. This year's event is scheduled for Friday, May 2.

STX is a global sporting goods leader in the sports of lacrosse, field hockey, golf, and hockey. With its 1970 introduction of the first synthetic lacrosse head, STX ushered in the "modern era" of what is now the fastest growing team sport. Based in Baltimore, the home of lacrosse, STX has been universally recognized for innovation in product design and development. STX continues to strive for new performance standards in sporting goods equipment at the highest levels of competition. For more information, visit http://www.stx.com.

Winners of the Women's Division I Coach of the Year
1998 Laura Halldorson, Minnesota   2007 Mark Johnson, Wisconsin
1999 Katey Stone, Harvard   2008 Jim Fetter, Wayne State
2000 Judy Oberting, Dartmouth   2009 Mark Johnson, Wisconsin
2001 Paul Flanagan, St. Lawrence   2010 Doug Derraugh, Cornell
2002 Laura Halldorson, Minnesota   2011 Mark Johnson, Wisconsin
2003 Shannon Miller, Minnesota-Duluth   2012 Chris Wells, St. Lawrence
2004 Laura Halldorson, Minnesota   2013 Brad Frost, Minnesota
2005 Mike Sisti, Mercyhurst   2014 Brad Frost, Minnesota
2006 Mark Johnson, Wisconsin