March 20, 2014
Kevin Houle of Plattsburgh State repeats as STX/AHCA Division III Women's Ice Hockey Coach of the Year

PLATTSBURGH, NY — Kevin Houle of SUNY Plattsburgh has been named STX/AHCA national Division III Women's Coach of the Year for the fifth time in his career. The announcement was made at the student-athlete banquet for the 2014 NCAA Division III Women's Ice Hockey Championship being played in Plattsburgh, NY.

In the 2013-14 season, Houle has led the Cardinals to their second-straight ECAC Women's West Championship and fourth overall with a 25-1-1 record. Houle received his sixth conference coach of the year citation in a year that saw Plattsburgh State sit atop the USCHO.com Division III poll for 17-straight weeks and land seven All-ECAC Women's West selections including ECAC Women's West Player of the Year, Sydney Aveson. With Houle at the helm, the Cardinals are making their 10th NCAA Tournament appearance. Houle enters the 2014 NCAA semifinals with a 259-40-20 career record and his .843 winning percentage ranks first among all active women's hockey coaches.

A 1986 graduate of Boston College, Houle has enjoyed extensive coaching experience with USA Hockey at the international level in addition to his college work. His previous AHCA Coach of the Year awards came in 2006, 2007, 2008 and 2013.

Houle was assisted this season by Danielle Blanchard. The runner-up for this year's award was Tom Palkowski of the University of St. Thomas.

The Coach of the Year Awards are chosen by members of the American Hockey Coaches Association (AHCA). Winners will receive their awards at the annual AHCA Celebration of Women's Ice Hockey Banquet, held in conjunction with the AHCA Convention in Naples, FL. This year's banquet is scheduled for Friday, May 2

STX is a global sporting goods leader in the sports of lacrosse, field hockey, golf, and hockey. With its 1970 introduction of the first synthetic lacrosse head, STX ushered in the "modern era" of what is now the fastest growing team sport. Based in Baltimore, the home of lacrosse, STX has been universally recognized for innovation in product design and development. STX continues to strive for new performance standards in sporting goods equipment at the highest levels of competition. For more information, visit http://www.stx.com.

Winners of the Women's Division III Coach of the Year Award
2000 Ted Wisner, Colgate   2008 Kevin Houle, Plattsburgh State
2001 Bill Mandigo, Middlebury   2009 Jim Plumer. Amherst College
2002 Jamie Wood, Elmira   2010 Mark Bolding, Norwich
2003 Michele Amidon, Bowdoin   2011 Mark Bolding, Norwich
2004 Bill Mandigo, Middlebury   2012 Mark Bolding, Norwich
2005 Bill Mandigo, Middlebury   2013 Kevin Houle, Plattsburgh State
2006 Kevin Houle, Plattsburgh State   2014 Kevin Houle, Plattsburgh State
2007 Kevin Houle, Plattsburgh State