March 17, 2015

Seven coaches who enjoyed on-ice success during the 2014-15 season have been named finalists for the STX/AHCA Division I Women's Ice Hockey Coach of the Year Award. The award will be presented during the American Hockey Coaches Association (AHCA) Convention on Friday, May 1, in Naples, FL. Among the finalists are four former winners: Paul Flanagan of Syracuse (2001), Brad Frost of Minnesota (2013, 2014), Mark Johnson of Wisconsin (2006, 2007, 2009 and 2011) and Katey Stone of Harvard (1999).

To be a finalist for this award, you must either be voted Coach of the Year in your conference, or take your team to the NCAA Women's Ice Hockey National Collegiate Championship semifinals. The winner will be announced on Thursday at the student-athlete banquet of this year's championship in Minneapolis.

stxSTX is a global sporting goods leader in the sports of lacrosse, field hockey, golf, and hockey. With its 1970 introduction of the first synthetic lacrosse head, STX ushered in the "modern era" of what is now the fastest growing team sport. Based in Baltimore, the home of lacrosse, STX has been universally recognized for innovation in product design and development. STX continues to strive for new performance standards in sporting goods equipment at the highest levels of competition. For more information, visit http://www.stx.com.

2014-15 AHCA Women's Ice Hockey
Division One Coach of the Year Finalists

Katie King Crowley, Boston College—Hockey East Coach of the Year, NCAA Semifinalist
Matt Desrosiers, Clarkson University—ECAC Coach of the Year
Paul Flanagan, Syracuse — CHA Coach of the Year*
Brad Frost, Minnesota— NCAA Semifinalist*
Mark Johnson, Wisconsin — NCAA Semifinalist*
Jim Scanlan, Bemidji State — WCHA Coach of the Year
Katey Stone, Harvard — NCAA Semifinalist*

*Previous Winner

Winners of the Women's Division I Coach of the Year
1998 Laura Halldorson, Minnesota   2007 Mark Johnson, Wisconsin
1999 Katey Stone, Harvard   2008 Jim Fetter, Wayne State
2000 Judy Oberting, Dartmouth   2009 Mark Johnson, Wisconsin
2001 Paul Flanagan, St. Lawrence   2010 Doug Derraugh, Cornell
2002 Laura Halldorson, Minnesota   2011 Mark Johnson, Wisconsin
2003 Shannon Miller, Minnesota-Duluth   2012 Chris Wells, St. Lawrence
2004 Laura Halldorson, Minnesota   2013 Brad Frost, Minnesota
2005 Mike Sisti, Mercyhurst   2014 Brad Frost, Minnesota
2006 Mark Johnson, Wisconsin