March 17, 2015

Seven players who have distinguished themselves on the ice in 2014-15 have been named finalists for the 2015 Sid Watson Award, given annually to the best NCAA Division III men's ice hockey player in the country. Four of the finalists have advanced to the quarterfinal round of the NCAA Division III Men's Ice Hockey being played this weekend at campus sites. They are Ryan Cole of Trinity, Kevin Gibson of UW-Stevens Point, Shawn Hulshof of Oswego State and William Pelletier of Norwich. A fifth finalist, Kyle Shapiro of Nichols College, saw his season end in last week's NCAA opening round.

Sponsored by the American Hockey Coaches Association, the Watson Award honors the memory of former Bowdoin College head coach and athletic director Sid Watson. A three-time AHCA Coach of the Year, Watson served Bowdoin for more than 30 years, winning 326 games in 24 seasons as head coach.

The recipient of this year's Watson Award will be announced on Thursday, March 26, during the 2015 NCAA Division III Men's Championship student-athlete banquet in Minneapolis, MN.

2014-2015 Finalists for the Sid Watson Award

Ryan Cole, Sophomore, Forward, Trinity College
(Anchorage, AK) - NESCAC Player of the Year

Drew Fielding, Senior, Goalie, University of St. Thomas
(Burlington, ON) - MIAC Player of the Year

Kevin Gibson, Senior, Defenseman, UW-Stevens Point
(Grosse Pointe, MI) - WIAC Player of the Year

Shawn Hulshof, Sophomore Forward, Oswego State
(Stouffville, ON) - SUNYAC Player of the Year

William Pelletier, Sophomore, Forward, Norwich University
(St. Jean Chrysostome, PQ) - ECAC East Player of the Year

Leo Podolsky, Junior, Goaltender, Lake Forest College
(Oakville, ON) - NCHA Player of the Year

Kyle Shapiro, Senior, Defenseman, Nichols College
(Ambler, PA) - ECAC Northeast Player of the Year

Previous Winners of the Sid Watson Award
AHCA Men’s Ice Hockey College Player of the Year
1993 Frank Cirone Wisconsin-Stevens Point Forward
1994 Ray Alcindor Middlebury Forward
1995 Charlie Gaffney Bowdoin Forward
1996 Ian Smith Middlebury Defense
1997 Steve Toll RIT Forward
1998 Mark Spence Middlebury Forward
1999 Rob Smillie St. Norbert Forward
2000 Steve Aronson St. Thomas Forward
2001 Keith Aucoin Norwich Forward
2002 Jerry Galway RIT Defense
2003 Maris Ziedins St. Norbert Forward
2004 Kevin Cooper Middlebury Forward
2005 Kurtis McLean Norwich Forward
2006 Adam Hanna St. John's Goalie
2007 Andrew Gallant Manhattanville Goalie
2008 Kyle Jones St. Norbert Goalie
2009 Jeff Landers Amherst Defense
2010 David Martinson Gustavus Adolphus Forward
2011 Chris Berenguer Hamline Defense
2012 Jonathan LaRose Amherst Goalie
2013 Paul Rodrigues SUNY Oswego Forward
2014 David Jacobson St. Norbert Goalie