March 19, 2015
Boston College's Katie King Crowley Is The STX/AHCA Division I Women's Coach of the Year

For leading Boston College to a 34-2-2 record and into the 2015 NCAA National Collegiate Women's Ice Hockey Championship semifinals, Katie King Crowley has been named the STX/AHCA Division I Women's Coach of the Year for 2014-15. Crowley's Eagles will face-off against Harvard University on Friday night in Minneapolis, the team that handed BC its first loss of the season back in February after the Eagles started the year at 27-0-1.

Crowley took home Hockey East Coach of the Year honors for the second consecutive year after guiding the Eagles to the best season in program history and defending their Hockey East regular season title. She has helped guide the team to their most wins in a season in school history (34) and goals scored in a season in school history (194). Crowley also led the Eagles to a No. 1 national ranking for 14 weeks, marking the first time Boston College was ranked first in the national polls.

In eight seasons at the Heights, Crowley's career mark is 180-72-39. While a student at Brown, Crowley earned ECAC Ice Hockey Player of the Year honors in 1997 and was the Ivy League Player of the Year three times. She is the Bears' all-time leading scorer with 206 points, racking up 123 goals and 83 assists in 100 career games. Crowley served as team captain as a junior and senior. Crowley also lettered in softball while at Brown and served as a three-time team captain. She was Ivy League Player of the Year in 1996 and the Ivy League Pitcher of the Year in 1997. She is a Hall of Fame inductee for both hockey and softball at Brown.

Her international resume is too deep to list in its entirety. She played in three Olympic Games, winning gold, silver and bronze and twice scoring a hat trick in Olympic play. Her teams won nine consecutive silver medals in the World Championships and she was a member of the 2005 U.S. team that won gold for the first time.

The Salem, NH, native graduated from Brown in 1997 with a B.A. in Organizational Behavior and Management. Crowley's alma mater awarded her an Honorary Doctorate of Humane Letters in 2011. She married Ted Crowley, a former BC men's hockey player and also an Olympian, in the summer of 2010.

Crowley was assisted this season by Courtney Kennedy and Alison Quandt. The runner-up for this year's STX/AHCA Division I Women's Coach of the Year Award was Jim Scanlon of Bemidji State.

The STX/AHCA Coach of the Year Award winners are chosen by members of the American Hockey Coaches Association (AHCA). Winners will receive their awards at the annual AHCA "Celebration of Women's Hockey" Banquet, held in conjunction with the AHCA Convention in Naples, FL. This year's event is scheduled for Friday, May 1.

stxSTX is a global sporting goods leader in the sports of lacrosse, field hockey, golf, and hockey. With its 1970 introduction of the first synthetic lacrosse head, STX ushered in the "modern era" of what is now the fastest growing team sport. Based in Baltimore, the home of lacrosse, STX has been universally recognized for innovation in product design and development. STX continues to strive for new performance standards in sporting goods equipment at the highest levels of competition. For more information, visit http://www.stx.com.

Winners of the Women's Division I Coach of the Year
1998 Laura Halldorson, Minnesota   2007 Mark Johnson, Wisconsin
1999 Katey Stone, Harvard   2008 Jim Fetter, Wayne State
2000 Judy Oberting, Dartmouth   2009 Mark Johnson, Wisconsin
2001 Paul Flanagan, St. Lawrence   2010 Doug Derraugh, Cornell
2002 Laura Halldorson, Minnesota   2011 Mark Johnson, Wisconsin
2003 Shannon Miller, Minnesota-Duluth   2012 Chris Wells, St. Lawrence
2004 Laura Halldorson, Minnesota   2013 Brad Frost, Minnesota
2005 Mike Sisti, Mercyhurst   2014 Brad Frost, Minnesota
2006 Mark Johnson, Wisconsin   2015 Katie King Crowley, Boston College