March 19, 2015
Dean Jackson of Elmira College is STX/AHCA Division III Women's Ice Hockey Coach of the Year

PLATTSBURGH, NY — Dean Jackson of Elmira College has been named STX/AHCA national Division III Women's Coach of the Year for 2014-15. The announcement was made at the student-athlete banquet for the 2015 NCAA Division III Women's Ice Hockey Championship being played in Plattsburgh, NY.

Jackson led the Soaring Eagles to a perfect 18-0-0 record in ECAC West regular season play and takes his team into Friday's NCAA semifinal game (7:00 p.m.) against UW-River Falls sporting an overall record of 25-2-1. In his three years at Elmira, Jackson has amassed a 70-13-2 career record, including three consecutive NCAA Tournament bids and the 2013 NCAA National Championship. He has also posted an 8-2-1 record against nationally ranked teams this season en route to being named the 2014-15 ECAC West Conference Coach of the Year. Entering the NCAA semifinals, Jackson's women rank first in the country in power-play efficiency, second in scoring offense, second in scoring margin, second in combined special teams, and sixth in scoring defense. Jackson is the second recipient from Elmira, following 2002 winner Jamie Wood.

Prior to his appointment as head coach, Jackson served as an Elmira men's assistant from 2007-12. During his time with the men's team, Jackson coached eight All-Americans and two ECAC West Players of the Year.

Jackson is no stranger to Elmira where he enjoyed one of the most successful playing careers in the 40-year history of the Elmira program. Playing from 1999-2003, Jackson became a member of the prestigious 100 point club in 2003, garnered ECAC West Rookie of the Year honors in 1999, and captained the 2003 squad. In addition to competing as a standout forward with the men's Hockey program, Jackson was also a four-year member of the Soaring Eagles men's golf team. Following graduation in 2003, Jackson went on to play professionally in the Southern Professional Hockey League.

Jackson was assisted this season by Josh Piro. The runner-up for this year's award was Kevin Houle of Plattsburgh State, a five-time recipient of this award.

The Coach of the Year Awards are chosen by members of the American Hockey Coaches Association (AHCA). Winners will receive their awards at the annual AHCA Celebration of Women's Ice Hockey Banquet, held in conjunction with the AHCA Convention in Naples, FL. This year's banquet is scheduled for Friday, May 1.

stxSTX is a global sporting goods leader in the sports of lacrosse, field hockey, golf, and hockey. With its 1970 introduction of the first synthetic lacrosse head, STX ushered in the "modern era" of what is now the fastest growing team sport. Based in Baltimore, the home of lacrosse, STX has been universally recognized for innovation in product design and development. STX continues to strive for new performance standards in sporting goods equipment at the highest levels of competition. For more information, visit http://www.stx.com.

Winners of the Women's Division III Coach of the Year Award
2000 Ted Wisner, Colgate   2008 Kevin Houle, Plattsburgh State
2001 Bill Mandigo, Middlebury   2009 Jim Plumer. Amherst College
2002 Jamie Wood, Elmira   2010 Mark Bolding, Norwich
2003 Michele Amidon, Bowdoin   2011 Mark Bolding, Norwich
2004 Bill Mandigo, Middlebury   2012 Mark Bolding, Norwich
2005 Bill Mandigo, Middlebury   2013 Kevin Houle, Plattsburgh State
2006 Kevin Houle, Plattsburgh State   2014 Kevin Houle, Plattsburgh State
2007 Kevin Houle, Plattsburgh State   2015 Dean Jackson, Elmira