March 23, 2015

Twelve coaches who have enjoyed on-ice success in 2014-15 have been named finalists for the Edward Jeremiah Award, given annually to the College Division (NCAA Division III) Men's Ice Hockey Coach of the Year. Named in honor of the former Dartmouth head coach, the Jeremiah Award will be presented during the American Hockey Coaches Association (AHCA) Convention on Saturday, May 2, in Naples, FL.

The nominees represent any coach who won or shared Coach of the Year honors in his conference this past season, along with coaches whose teams have advanced to the 2015 NCAA Division III Men's Ice Hockey Championship. Of this year's finalists, three were past recipients: Mike McShane of Norwich (1997, 1999, 2000 and 2010), Jack Arena of Amherst College (2012), and Matt Loen of Wisconsin-Eau Claire (2013). Among the four NCAA semifinalists, Jack Arena of Amherst and Adam Krug of Adrian College were also their conference's Coach of the Year recipients this season.

The winner will be announced Thursday evening at the student-athlete banquet at the NCAA Division III Men's Ice Hockey Championships being played this weekend at Ridder Arena in Minneapolis, MN.

2014-15 AHCA Men's Ice Hockey
Edward Jeremiah Award (Division III Coach of the Year) Finalists

Jack Arena, Amherst, NESCAC Coach of the Year, NCAA Semifinalist*
David Borges, Stonehill, Northeast 10 Coach of the Year
Chris Brooks, UW-Stevens Point, NCAA Semifinalist
Bob Emery, Plattsburgh, SUNYAC Coach of the Year
Matt Greason, Trinity, NCAA Semifinalist
Adam Krug, Adrian, NCHA Coach of the Year, NCAA Semifinalist
Matt Loen, Wisconsin Eau Claire, WIAC Coach of the Year*
Mike McShane, Norwich, ECAC East Coach of the Year*
Bill Moore, St. Mary's, MIAC Coach of the Year
Craig Russell, Plymouth State, MASCAC Coach of the Year
Kevin Swallow, Nichols, ECAC Northeast Coach of the Year
Mark Taylor, Hobart, ECAC West Coach of the Year
* Past Jeremiah Award Winner

Previous Winners of the Edward Jeremiah Award
(Division III Coach of the Year)
1970 Sid Watson, Bowdoin   1992 Bruce Marshall, Connecticut
1971 Sid Watson, Bowdoin   1993 Joe Baldarotta, WI-Stevens Point
1972 Jack Canniff, Massachusetts   1994 Jeff Meredith, Fredonia
1973 Jim Cross, Vermont   1995 Bill Beaney, Middlebury
1974 Barry Urbanski, Boston State   1996 Dean Talafous, WI-River Falls
1975 Wendall Forbes, Middlebury   1997 Mike McShane, Norwich
1976 Don Roberts, Gustavus Adolphus   1998 Mike Schwartz, Augsburg
1977 Bill Riley, Jr., Lowell   1999 Mike McShane, Norwich
1978 Sid Watson, Bowdoin   2000 Mike McShane, Norwich
1979 Don Brose, Mankato State   2001 Wayne Wilson, RIT
1980 Steve Stirling, Babson   2002 Dan Stauber, WI-Superior
1981 Herb Hammond, Plattsburgh State   2003 George Roll, Oswego State
1982 Steve Stirling, Babson   2004 Bill Beaney, Middlebury
1983 Mike Gibbons, Bemidji State   2005 Terry Skrypek, St. Thomas
  Peter Van Buskirk, Holy Cross   2006 Bill Beaney, Middlebury
1984 Bob Peters, Bemidji State   2007 Ed Gosek, Oswego State
1985 Rob Riley, Babson   2008 Tim Coghlin, St. Norbert College
1986 Terry Meagher, Bowdoin   2009 Dominick Dawes, Neumann College
1987 Tony Mariano, Norwich   2010 Mike McShane, Norwich
1988 Glenn Thomaris, Elmira   2011 Tim Coghlin, St. Norbert College
1989 Terry Meagher, Bowdoin   2012 Jack Arena, Amherst College
1990 Bill Beaney, Middlebury   2013 Matt Loen, UW-Eau Claire
1991 Glenn Thomaris, Elmira   2014 Chris Schultz, Geneseo