March 26, 2015
Jack Arena of Amherst is Named STX/AHCA Division III Men's Ice Hockey Coach of the Year
Edward Jeremiah Award to be Presented on May 2 in Naples, FL

MINNEAPOLIS, MN —The 2014-15 Amherst College men's hockey team, winners of its last eight games and 13 of its last 14, won the 2015 NESCAC Tournament title and tied the school record for wins with 24. And for his efforts in leading the way, coach Jack Arena has been named the winner of the Edward Jeremiah Award, given to the STX/AHCA Division III Men's Coach of the Year. It is the second such honor for arena who also captured this award in 2012.

Amherst enters this weekend's NCAA Division III semifinals sporting an overall record of 24-4-2, facing a Friday evening (7:30) semifinal date with Wisconsin-Stevens Point at Ridder Arena.

Arena's Jeffs currently rank first nationally in combined special teams, sixth in scoring defense, 12th on the power play, 13th in scoring margin, and 13th on the penalty kill. Through 32 seasons at Amherst, Arena has a career record of 429-310-58 and over the last seven seasons is 129-42-16 (.733). Arena has now led the Purple & White to three 20-plus win seasons since 2008-09 and three NCAA Tournament appearances. He is looking to bring Amherst its first NCAA men's ice hockey title.

A native of Randolph, MA, Arena became Amherst's head coach immediately following his senior year with the program. Tied for fourth on Amherst's all-time scoring list, he capped off his career in 1983 by receiving the Hobey Baker Award as the best player in Division III. Also serving as Amherst's men's golf coach, Arena has a master's degree from the University of Massachusetts. He and his wife, Diane Arena '84, are the parents of two daughters, Emily and Ellen, and two sons, Patrick and John.

The Edward Jeremiah Award is named in honor of the great Dartmouth College head coach and was first presented in 1970. The runner-up for this year's Edward Jeremiah Award is Adam Krug of Adrian College, also an NCAA semifinalist. Arena was assisted this year by Gregg DiNardo, Mike McLaughlin and Eddie Effinger.

The Coach of the Year Awards are chosen by members of the American Hockey Coaches Association (AHCA). Winners will receive their awards at the annual AHCA Celebration of Men's Ice Hockey Banquet, held in conjunction with the AHCA Convention in Naples, FL. This year's banquet is scheduled for Saturday, May 2.

stxSTX is a global sporting goods leader in the sports of lacrosse, field hockey, golf, and hockey. With its 1970 introduction of the first synthetic lacrosse head, STX ushered in the "modern era" of what is now the fastest growing team sport. Based in Baltimore, the home of lacrosse, STX has been universally recognized for innovation in product design and development. STX continues to strive for new performance standards in sporting goods equipment at the highest levels of competition. For more information, visit http://www.stx.com.

Winners of the Edward Jeremiah Award
(Division III Coach of the Year)
1970 Sid Watson, Bowdoin   1993 Joe Baldarotta, WI-Stevens Point
1971 Sid Watson, Bowdoin   1994 Jeff Meredith, Fredonia
1972 Jack Canniff, Massachusetts   1995 Bill Beaney, Middlebury
1973 Jim Cross, Vermont   1996 Dean Talafous, WI-River Falls
1974 Barry Urbanski, Boston State   1997 Mike McShane, Norwich
1975 Wendall Forbes, Middlebury   1998 Mike Schwartz, Augsburg
1976 Don Roberts, Gustavus Adolphus   1999 Mike McShane, Norwich
1977 Bill Riley, Jr., Lowell   2000 Mike McShane, Norwich
1978 Sid Watson, Bowdoin   2001 Wayne Wilson, RIT
1979 Don Brose, Mankato State   2002 Dan Stauber, WI-Superior
1980 Steve Stirling, Babson   2003 George Roll, Oswego State
1981 Herb Hammond, Plattsburgh State   2004 Bill Beaney, Middlebury
1982 Steve Stirling, Babson   2005 Terry Skrypek, St. Thomas
1983 Mike Gibbons, Bemidji State   2006 Bill Beaney, Middlebury
  Peter Van Buskirk, Holy Cross   2007 Ed Gosek, Oswego State
1984 Bob Peters, Bemidji State   2008 Tim Coghlin, St. Norbert College
1985 Rob Riley, Babson   2009 Dominick Dawes, Neumann College
1986 Terry Meagher, Bowdoin   2010 Mike McShane, Norwich
1987 Tony Mariano, Norwich   2011 Tim Coghlin, St. Norbert College
1988 Glenn Thomaris, Elmira   2012 Jack Arena, Amherst College
1989 Terry Meagher, Bowdoin   2013 Matt Loen, UW-Eau Claire
1990 Bill Beaney, Middlebury   2014 Chris Schultz, Geneseo
1991 Glenn Thomaris, Elmira   2015 Jack Arena, Amherst College
1992 Bruce Marshall, Connecticut