March 26, 2015
Drew Fielding is D-III Ice Hockey Player of the Year
Sid Watson Award Winner is Second from University of St. Thomas

Drew Fielding, a senior goaltender from the University of St. Thomas and Burlington, Ontario, has been chosen by the nation's ice hockey coaches as the 2015 winner of the Sid Watson Award, symbolic of the best NCAA Division III men's ice hockey player. The 5-11, 180-pound netminder went 13-6-4 this year with a 1.67 GAA and a save percentage of .934. He had six shutouts on the season and is the second straight goaltender to win the award after David Jacobsen of St. Norbert College won last year. Fielding is the second player from St. Thomas so honored, the first being Steve Aronson in 2000.

Drew is the most valuable player of our hockey team for the fourth year in a row and the main reason our team was the third ranked defense in the nation, said St. Thomas head coach Jeff Boeser. "Throughout his four seasons at here, Drew has developed into one of the best leaders and most well rounded individuals I have ever coached. He leads our team with a 3.88 GPA and heads up our team's study hall, which meets every Tuesday night during the school year. Drew has also taken the lead with our team's chapel that meets weekly through Hockey Ministries International. He works with the chaplain weekly to develop a Bible study that will be discussed at the next meeting. He is the first to volunteer for any activity outside of the rink that needs a leader. Drew takes all our freshmen under his wing and helps them navigate the rigors of being a college athlete. His contributions to our team and our school cannot be measured only with statistics. He is one of the most outstanding student-athletes I have ever had the pleasure of coaching."

Fielding has enjoyed an outstanding four-year career at St. Thomas and set the MIAC conference record in shutouts and is in the Top 3 all-time in conference career GAA and save percentage. He has also been named back-to-back MIAC Conference Player of the Year. The award is named in honor of former Bowdoin College head coach Sid Watson, a three-time winner of the Edward Jeremiah Award as Division III Coach of the Year. Watson won 326 games at Bowdoin in a career that spanned from 1959 to 1983. He was also the school's athletic director.

The runner-up for the 2015 Sid Watson Award was Kevin Gibson, a senior defenseman from the University of Wisconsin-Stevens Point and Grosse Pointe, Michigan.

Winners of the Sid Watson Award
AHCA Men’s Ice Hockey College Player of the Year
1993 Frank Cirone Wisconsin-Stevens Point Forward
1994 Ray Alcindor Middlebury Forward
1995 Charlie Gaffney Bowdoin Forward
1996 Ian Smith Middlebury Defense
1997 Steve Toll RIT Forward
1998 Mark Spence Middlebury Forward
1999 Rob Smillie St. Norbert Forward
2000 Steve Aronson St. Thomas Forward
2001 Keith Aucoin Norwich Forward
2002 Jerry Galway RIT Defense
2003 Maris Ziedins St. Norbert Forward
2004 Kevin Cooper Middlebury Forward
2005 Kurtis McLean Norwich Forward
2006 Adam Hanna St. John's Goalie
2007 Andrew Gallant Manhattanville Goalie
2008 Kyle Jones St. Norbert Goalie
2009 Jeff Landers Amherst Defense
2010 David Martinson Gustavus Adolphus Forward
2011 Chris Berenguer Hamline Defense
2012 Jonathan LaRose Amherst Goalie
2013 Paul Rodrigues SUNY Oswego Forward
2014 David Jacobson St. Norbert Goalie
2015 Drew Fielding St. Thomas Goalie