April 1, 2015
Finalists Announced for Spencer Penrose Award Given to STX/AHCA Men's Hockey Division I Coach of the Year

Eight coaches who have enjoyed on-ice success in 2014-15 have been named finalists for the Spencer Penrose Award, given annually to the NCAA Division I Men's Ice Hockey Coach of the Year. Voting will be conducted prior to this year's Frozen Four in Boston, MA, and the winner will be announced on Wednesday, April 8.

The nominees represent any coach who won or shared Coach of the Year honors in his conference this past season, along with coaches whose teams have advanced to the NCAA Division I Men's Ice Hockey semifinals. Of this year's finalists, two are past recipients of this award: two-time winner Dean Blais of Omaha (winner in 1997 and 2001 while at North Dakota) and Nate Leaman of Providence College (who won while at Union College in 2011).

The Spencer Penrose Award is named in memory of the Colorado Springs benefactor who built the Broadmoor Hotel Complex, site of the first ten NCAA championship hockey tournaments. The actual award will be presented at the AHCA Coach of the Year Banquet in Naples, Florida, on Saturday evening, May 2. The AHCA Coach of the Year Awards are chosen by members of the American Hockey Coaches Association and sponsored by STX.

stxSTX is a global sporting goods leader in the sports of lacrosse, field hockey, golf, and hockey. With its 1970 introduction of the first synthetic lacrosse head, STX ushered in the "modern era" of what is now the fastest growing team sport. Based in Baltimore, the home of lacrosse, STX has been universally recognized for innovation in product design and development. STX continues to strive for new performance standards in sporting goods equipment at the highest levels of competition. For more information, visit http://www.stx.com.

2014-2015 AHCA Men's Ice Hockey Spencer Penrose Award Finalists
(STX/AHCA Division I Coach of the Year)

Dean Blais, Omaha — NCAA Semifinalist*
Greg Carvel, St. Lawrence — ECAC Coach of the Year
Guy Gadowsky, Penn State — Big Ten Coach of the Year
Dave Hakstol, North Dakota — NCHC Coach of the Year and NCAA Semifinalist
Mike Hastings, Minnesota State — WCHA Coach of the Year
Nate Leaman, Providence College — NCAA Semifinalist*
David Quinn, Boston University — Hockey East Coach of the Year and NCAA Semifinalist
Derek Schooley, Robert Morris University — Atlantic Hockey Coach of the Year
* Past Spencer Penrose Award Winner

Winners of the Spencer Penrose Award
(Division I Coach of the Year)
1951 Edward Jeremiah, Dartmouth   1983 Bill Cleary, Harvard
1952 Cheddy Thompson, Colorado College   1984 Mike Sertich, Minnesota-Duluth
1953 John Mariucci, Minnesota   1985 Len Ceglarski, Boston College
1954 Vic Heyliger, Michigan   1986 Ralph Backstrom, Denver
1955 Ralph "Cooney" Weiland, Harvard   1987 John "Gino" Gasparini, North Dakota
1956 William Harrison, Clarkson   1988 Frank Anzalone, Lake Superior
1957 Jack Riley, Army   1989 Joe Marsh, St. Lawrence
1958 Harry Cleverly, Boston University   1990 Terry Slater, Colgate
1959 John "Snooks" Kelley, Boston College   1991 Rick Comley, Northern Michigan
1960 Jack Riley, Army   1992 Ron Mason, Michigan State
1961 Murray Armstrong, Denver   1993 George Gwozdecky, Miami
1962 Jack Kelley, Colby   1994 Don Lucia, Colorado College
1963 Tony Frasca, Colorado College   1995 Shawn Walsh, Maine
1964 Tom Eccleston, Jr., Providence   1996 Bruce Crowder, UMass Lowell
1965 Jim Fullerton, Brown   1997 Dean Blais, North Dakota
1966 Amo Bessone, Michigan State
Len Ceglarski, Clarkson
  1998 Tim Taylor, Yale
1967 Edward Jeremiah, Dartmouth   1999 Richard Umile, New Hampshire
1968 Ned Harkness, Cornell   2000 Joe Marsh, St. Lawrence
1969 Charlie Holt, New Hampshire   2001 Dean Blais, North Dakota
1970 John Maclnnes, Michigan Tech   2002 Tim Whitehead, Maine
1971 Ralph "Cooney" Weiland, Harvard   2003 Bob Daniels, Ferris State
1972 John "Snooks" Kelley, Boston College   2004 Scott Sandelin, Minnesota-Duluth
1973 Len Ceglarski, Boston College   2005 George Gwozdecky, Denver
1974 Charlie Holt, New Hampshire   2006 Enrico Blasi, Miami
1975 Jack Parker, Boston University   2007 Jeff Jackson, Notre Dame
1976 John Maclnnes, Michigan Tech   2008 Red Berenson, Michigan
1977 Jerry York, Clarkson   2009 Jack Parker, Boston University
1978 Jack Parker, Boston University   2010 Wayne Wilson, RIT
1979 Charlie Holt, New Hampshire   2011 Nate Leaman, Union
1980 Rick Comley, Northern Michigan   2012 Bob Daniels, Ferris State
1981 Bill O'Flaherty, Clarkson   2013 Norm Bazin, UMass Lowell
1982 Ferny Flaman, Northeastern   2014 Rick Bennett, Union