April 8, 2015
Mike Hastings of Minnesota State is STX/AHCA Men's Division I Coach of the Year
Will Receive Spencer Penrose Award at AHCA Convention on May 3 in Naples, FL

For his efforts in leading the Minnesota State Mavericks to the #1 seed in this year's NCAA Division I Men's Ice Hockey Championships, Mike Hastings has been chosen winner of the 2015 Spencer Penrose Award as Division I Men's Ice Hockey STX/AHCA Coach of the Year. He will receive his award on Saturday evening, May 2, during the American Hockey Coaches Association annual convention in Naples, FL.

Hastings enjoyed a banner year in 2014-15 as MNSU went 29-8-3 and captured both the WCHA regular season and tournament titles. The year extended an incredible streak for Hastings who is 79-36-7 at Minnesota State since arriving in 2012, the 79 wins being the most by any NCAA Division I coach in this period. He has twice been chosen by his peers as WCHA Coach of the Year (2013 and 2015) in his short time at MNSU.

Prior to coming to the Mavericks, Hastings spent 14 years in the USHL as head coach of the Omaha Lancers. He remains the winningest coach in the history of the USHL. He also spent four years as an NCAA assistant coach, three at Omaha and one with the University of Minnesota.

Hastings has also coached extensively with USA Hockey at the national team level. Among his international assignments are two stints as head coach of the U.S. Junior National Team (2003 and 2005). A 1993 graduate of St. Cloud State, Hastings played two years of varsity hockey at St. Cloud before a back injury shortened his playing career.

Assisting Hastings this season were Darren Blue and Todd Knott. All three will be recognized in Naples, Florida, in May. The runner-up for this year's AHCA Men's Division I Coach of the Year award was David Quinn of Boston University.

stxThe Spencer Penrose Award is named in memory of the Colorado Springs benefactor who built the Broadmoor Hotel Complex, site of the first ten NCAA championship hockey tournaments. All AHCA Coach of the Year awards are selected by the head coaches in each division and are sponsored by STX.

Winners of the Spencer Penrose Award
(Division I Coach of the Year)
1951 Edward Jeremiah, Dartmouth   1984 Mike Sertich, Minnesota-Duluth
1952 Cheddy Thompson, Colorado College   1985 Len Ceglarski, Boston College
1953 John Mariucci, Minnesota   1986 Ralph Backstrom, Denver
1954 Vic Heyliger, Michigan   1987 John "Gino" Gasparini, North Dakota
1955 Ralph "Cooney" Weiland, Harvard   1988 Frank Anzalone, Lake Superior
1956 William Harrison, Clarkson   1989 Joe Marsh, St. Lawrence
1957 Jack Riley, Army   1990 Terry Slater, Colgate
1958 Harry Cleverly, Boston University   1991 Rick Comley, Northern Michigan
1959 John "Snooks" Kelley, Boston College   1992 Ron Mason, Michigan State
1960 Jack Riley, Army   1993 George Gwozdecky, Miami
1961 Murray Armstrong, Denver   1994 Don Lucia, Colorado College
1962 Jack Kelley, Colby   1995 Shawn Walsh, Maine
1963 Tony Frasca, Colorado College   1996 Bruce Crowder, UMass Lowell
1964 Tom Eccleston, Jr., Providence   1997 Dean Blais, North Dakota
1965 Jim Fullerton, Brown   1998 Tim Taylor, Yale
1966 Amo Bessone, Michigan State
Len Ceglarski, Clarkson
  1999 Richard Umile, New Hampshire
1967 Edward Jeremiah, Dartmouth   2000 Joe Marsh, St. Lawrence
1968 Ned Harkness, Cornell   2001 Dean Blais, North Dakota
1969 Charlie Holt, New Hampshire   2002 Tim Whitehead, Maine
1970 John Maclnnes, Michigan Tech   2003 Bob Daniels, Ferris State
1971 Ralph "Cooney" Weiland, Harvard   2004 Scott Sandelin, Minnesota-Duluth
1972 John "Snooks" Kelley, Boston College   2005 George Gwozdecky, Denver
1973 Len Ceglarski, Boston College   2006 Enrico Blasi, Miami
1974 Charlie Holt, New Hampshire   2007 Jeff Jackson, Notre Dame
1975 Jack Parker, Boston University   2008 Red Berenson, Michigan
1976 John Maclnnes, Michigan Tech   2009 Jack Parker, Boston University
1977 Jerry York, Clarkson   2010 Wayne Wilson, RIT
1978 Jack Parker, Boston University   2011 Nate Leaman, Union
1979 Charlie Holt, New Hampshire   2012 Bob Daniels, Ferris State
1980 Rick Comley, Northern Michigan   2013 Norm Bazin, UMass Lowell
1981 Bill O'Flaherty, Clarkson   2014 Rick Bennett, Union
1982 Ferny Flaman, Northeastern   2015 Mike Hastings, Minnesota State
1983 Bill Cleary, Harvard