March 15, 2016

Five players who have distinguished themselves on the ice in 2015-16 have been named finalists for the 2016 Laura Hurd Award, given annually to the best NCAA Division III women's ice hockey player in the country. The list of finalists includes three players who led their teams into the 2016 NCAA Division III Women's Ice Hockey Championship in Plattsburgh, NY, this weekend. They are Chloe Kinsel, a senior forward from UW-River Falls, Kayla Meneghin, a sophomore forward from Plattsburgh, and Maddie Winslow, a sophomore forward from Middlebury.

Sponsored by the American Hockey Coaches Association, the Hurd Award honors the memory of former Elmira College standout Laura Hurd. A 2005 graduate of Elmira, and a four-time All-American, Hurd died in an automobile accident shortly after graduation. She was the recipient of the AHCA Player of the Year Award in 2005.

The recipient of this year's Hurd Award will be announced this Thursday evening during the student-athlete banquet at the NCAA Division III Women's Ice Hockey Championship in Plattsburgh, NY.

Finalists for the 2015-16 Laura Hurd Award
AHCA Women's Ice Hockey College Division Player of the Year

Michelle Greeneway, Senior Forward, Lake Forest College (Sheboygan, WI)
2015-16 NCHA East Player of the Year

Chloe Kinsel, Senior Forward, UW-River Falls (West St. Paul, MN)
2015-16 WIAC Player of the Year

Kayla Meneghin, Sophomore Forward, Plattsburgh State (Clifton, NJ)
2015-16 ECAC West Player of the Year

Alex Starzyk, Junior Forward, Saint Anselm College (Enfield, CT)
2015-16 NEHC Player of the Year

Maddie Winslow, Sophomore Forward, Middlebury College (Manchester, VT)
2015-16 NESCAC Player of the Year

Winners of the Laura Hurd Award
AHCA Women’s Ice Hockey College Player of the Year
2000 Sylvia Ryan Middlebury Forward
2001 Michelle Labbe Middlebury Forward
2002 Sarah Moe Gustavus Adolphus Forward
2003 Angela Kapus Middlebury Forward/Defense
2004 Molly Wasserman Williams Forward
2005 Laura Hurd Elmira Forward
2006 Emily Quizon Middlebury Forward
2007 Andrea Peterson Gustavus Adolphus Defense
2008 Danielle Blanchard Plattsburgh Forward
2009 Kayla Coady Elmira Forward
2010 Isabel Iwachiw Trinity Goaltender
2011 Sarah Dagg RIT Forward
2012 Julie Fortier Norwich Forward
2013 Teal Gove Plattsburgh Forward
2014 Sydney Aveson Plattsburgh Goaltender
2015 Ashley Ryan Elmira Forward