March 15, 2016

Nine players who have distinguished themselves on the ice in 2015-16 have been named finalists for the 2016 Sid Watson Award, given annually to the best NCAA Division III men's ice hockey player in the country. All were voted Player of the Year in their conferences and four have advanced to the quarterfinal round of the NCAA Division III Men's Ice Hockey Tournament being played this weekend at campus sites.

Sponsored by the American Hockey Coaches Association, the Watson Award honors the memory of former Bowdoin College head coach and athletic director Sid Watson. A three-time AHCA Coach of the Year, Watson served Bowdoin for more than 30 years, winning 326 games in 24 seasons as head coach.

The recipient of this year's Watson Award will be announced on Thursday, March 24, during the 2016 NCAA Division III Men's Championship student-athlete banquet in Lake Placid, NY.

2015-2016 Finalists for the Sid Watson Award

Charlie Adams, Senior, Forward, Hamline University (Mahtomedi, MN)
MIAC Player of the Year

Tyler Beasley, Senior, Forward, Nichols College (Indianapolis, IN)
ECAC Northeast Player of the Year

Stephen Collins, Junior, Forward, Geneseo State (Pittsford, NY)
SUNYAC Player of the Year

Erik Cooper, Senior, Forward, St. Norbert College (Anchorage, AK)
NCHA Player of the Year

Tyler Green, Senior, Goalie, UW-Eau Claire (Noblesville, IN)
WIAC East Player of the Year

Zander Masucci, Senior, Defenseman, Williams College (Far Hills, NJ)
NESCAC Player of the Year

Jamie Murray, Senior, Goalie, Babson College (Scituate, MA)
NEHC Player of the Year

Mac Olson, Senior, Forward, Hobart College (Grosse Pointe, MI)
ECAC West Player of the Year

Marcus Zelzer, Junior, Goalie, Salem State University (Green Bay, WI)
MASCAC Player of the Year

Winners of the Sid Watson Award
AHCA Men’s Ice Hockey College Player of the Year
1993 Frank Cirone Wisconsin-Stevens Point Forward
1994 Ray Alcindor Middlebury Forward
1995 Charlie Gaffney Bowdoin Forward
1996 Ian Smith Middlebury Defense
1997 Steve Toll RIT Forward
1998 Mark Spence Middlebury Forward
1999 Rob Smillie St. Norbert Forward
2000 Steve Aronson St. Thomas Forward
2001 Keith Aucoin Norwich Forward
2002 Jerry Galway RIT Defense
2003 Maris Ziedins St. Norbert Forward
2004 Kevin Cooper Middlebury Forward
2005 Kurtis McLean Norwich Forward
2006 Adam Hanna St. John's Goalie
2007 Andrew Gallant Manhattanville Goalie
2008 Kyle Jones St. Norbert Goalie
2009 Jeff Landers Amherst Defense
2010 David Martinson Gustavus Adolphus Forward
2011 Chris Berenguer Hamline Defense
2012 Jonathan LaRose Amherst Goalie
2013 Paul Rodrigues SUNY Oswego Forward
2014 David Jacobson St. Norbert Goalie
2015 Drew Fielding St. Thomas Goalie