March 17, 2016
Boston College's Katie Crowley Repeats As STX/AHCA Division I Women's Coach of the Year

For leading Boston College to a 39-0-0 record and into the 2016 NCAA National Collegiate Women's Ice Hockey Championship semifinals, Katie Crowley has been named the STX/AHCA Division I Women's Coach of the Year for 2015-16. Crowley's Eagles will face-off against Clarkson University on Friday afternoon (4:00 p.m.) at the University of New Hampshire.

Crowley took home Hockey East Coach of the Year honors for the third consecutive year after guiding the Eagles to the best season in program history and Hockey East regular season and tournament titles. She is making her seventh appearance in the NCAA Tournament, the fourth-highest total under a single coach and tied for sixth among all coaches. Crowley's current run of six-straight NCAA Tournament appearances are tied for fifth-longest in event history. With her fifth trip to the final weekend now booked, Crowley is tied for fourth in Frozen Four appearances among all coaches

In nine seasons at the Heights, Crowley's career mark is 219-72-39. While a student at Brown, Crowley earned ECAC Ice Hockey Player of the Year honors in 1997 and was the Ivy League Player of the Year three times. She is the Bears' all-time leading scorer with 206 points, racking up 123 goals and 83 assists in 100 career games. Crowley served as team captain as a junior and senior. Crowley also lettered in softball while at Brown and served as a three-time team captain. She was Ivy League Player of the Year in 1996 and the Ivy League Pitcher of the Year in 1997. She is a Hall of Fame inductee for both hockey and softball at Brown.

Her international resume is too deep to list in its entirety. She played in three Olympic Games, winning gold, silver and bronze and twice scoring a hat trick in Olympic play. Her teams won nine consecutive silver medals in the World Championships and she was a member of the 2005 U.S. team that won gold for the first time.

A native of Salem, NH, Crowley graduated from Brown in 1997 with a B.A. in Organizational Behavior and Management. Crowley's alma mater awarded her an Honorary Doctorate of Humane Letters in 2011. She married Ted Crowley, a former BC men's hockey player and also an Olympian, in the summer of 2010.

Crowley was assisted this season by Courtney Kennedy and Alison Quandt. The runner-up for this year's STX/AHCA Division I Women's Coach of the Year Award was four-time recipient Mark Johnson of the University of Wisconsin, also an NCAA semifinalist. The STX/AHCA Coach of the Year Award winners are chosen by members of the American Hockey Coaches Association (AHCA). Winners will receive their awards at the annual AHCA "Celebration of Women's Hockey" Banquet, held in conjunction with the AHCA Convention in Naples, FL. This year's event is scheduled for Friday, April 29.

stxSTX is a global sporting goods leader in the sports of lacrosse, field hockey, golf, and hockey. With its 1970 introduction of the first synthetic lacrosse head, STX ushered in the "modern era" of what is now the fastest growing team sport. Based in Baltimore, the home of lacrosse, STX has been universally recognized for innovation in product design and development. STX continues to strive for new performance standards in sporting goods equipment at the highest levels of competition.For more information, visit http://www.stx.com.

Winners of the Women's Division I Coach of the Year
1998 Laura Halldorson, Minnesota   2008 Jim Fetter, Wayne State
1999 Katey Stone, Harvard   2009 Mark Johnson, Wisconsin
2000 Judy Oberting, Dartmouth   2010 Doug Derraugh, Cornell
2001 Paul Flanagan, St. Lawrence   2011 Mark Johnson, Wisconsin
2002 Laura Halldorson, Minnesota   2012 Chris Wells, St. Lawrence
2003 Shannon Miller, Minnesota-Duluth   2013 Brad Frost, Minnesota
2004 Laura Halldorson, Minnesota   2014 Brad Frost, Minnesota
2005 Mike Sisti, Mercyhurst   2015 Katie King Crowley, Boston College
2006 Mark Johnson, Wisconsin   2016 Katie Crowley, Boston College
2007 Mark Johnson, Wisconsin