March 17, 2016
Kevin Houle of Plattsburgh State Earns Sixth STX/AHCA Division III Women's Ice Hockey Coach of the Year

PLATTSBURGH, NY — Kevin Houle of SUNY Plattsburgh has been named STX/AHCA national Division III Women's Coach of the Year for the sixth time in his career. The announcement was made at the student-athlete banquet for the 2016 NCAA Division III Women's Ice Hockey Championship being played in Plattsburgh, NY.

Currently in his 13th season at the helm of the Plattsburgh State women's hockey team, head coach Kevin Houle has led the top-ranked Cardinals to a 27-1-0 record and into a Friday semifinal date with #4 Middlebury (3:30 p.m.) Already a champion, Plattsburgh State captured the ECAC West Tournament Championship for the fourth-consecutive year.

This will be Houle's fifth-straight final four appearance and 11th NCAA appearance overall. He has a career record of 314-43-22 for an NCAA best .858 winning percentage.

A 1986 graduate of Boston College, Houle has enjoyed extensive coaching experience with USA Hockey at the international level in addition to his college work. His previous AHCA Coach of the Year awards came in 2006, 2007, 2008, 2013 and 2014.

Houle was assisted this season by Danielle Blanchard. The runner-up for this year's award was Joe Cranston of the University of Wisconsin-River Falls, also an NCAA semifinalist. #3 UW-River Falls faces off against #5 Elmira at 7:00 on Friday evening.

The Coach of the Year Awards are chosen by members of the American Hockey Coaches Association (AHCA). Winners will receive their awards at the annual AHCA Celebration of Women's Ice Hockey Banquet, held in conjunction with the AHCA Convention in Naples, FL. This year's banquet is scheduled for Friday, April 29.

stxSTX is a global sporting goods leader in the sports of lacrosse, field hockey, golf, and hockey. With its 1970 introduction of the first synthetic lacrosse head, STX ushered in the "modern era" of what is now the fastest growing team sport. Based in Baltimore, the home of lacrosse, STX has been universally recognized for innovation in product design and development. STX continues to strive for new performance standards in sporting goods equipment at the highest levels of competition. For more information, visit http://www.stx.com.

Winners of the Women's Division III Coach of the Year Award
2000 Ted Wisner, Colgate   2009 Jim Plumer. Amherst College
2001 Bill Mandigo, Middlebury   2010 Mark Bolding, Norwich
2002 Jamie Wood, Elmira   2011 Mark Bolding, Norwich
2003 Michele Amidon, Bowdoin   2012 Mark Bolding, Norwich
2004 Bill Mandigo, Middlebury   2013 Kevin Houle, Plattsburgh State
2005 Bill Mandigo, Middlebury   2014 Kevin Houle, Plattsburgh State
2006 Kevin Houle, Plattsburgh State   2015 Dean Jackson, Elmira
2007 Kevin Houle, Plattsburgh State   2016 Kevin Houle, Plattsburgh State
2008 Kevin Houle, Plattsburgh State