March 21, 2016

Eleven coaches who have enjoyed on-ice success in 2015-16 have been named finalists for the Edward Jeremiah Award, given annually to the College Division (NCAA Division III) Men's Ice Hockey Coach of the Year. Named in honor of the former Dartmouth head coach, the Jeremiah Award will be presented during the American Hockey Coaches Association (AHCA) Convention on Wednesday, April 27, in Naples, FL. The nominees represent any coach who won or shared Coach of the Year honors in his conference this past season, along with coaches whose teams have advanced to the 2016 NCAA Division III Men's Ice Hockey Championship. Of this year's finalists, two are past recipients: Tim Coghlin of St. Norbert College (2008, and 2011) and Chris Schultz of Geneseo State (2014). All four NCAA semifinalists are coached by conference Coach of the Year recipients this season.

The winner will be announced Thursday evening at the student-athlete banquet at the NCAA Division III Men's Ice Hockey Championships being played this weekend at Herb Brooks Arena in Lake Placid, NY.

2015-16 AHCA Men's Ice Hockey
Edward Jeremiah Award (Division III Coach of the Year) Finalists

Peter Belisle, UMass Boston, NEHC Coach of the Year, NCAA Semi-Finalist
Lance Brady, Assumption, Northeast 10 Coach of the Year
Chris Brooks, Stevens Point, Co-WIAC Coach of the Year, NCAA Semi-Finalist
Chris Brown, Augsburg, MIAC Coach of the Year
Tim Coghlin, St. Norbert, NCHA Coach of the Year, NCAA Semi-Finalist*
Steve Freeman, River Falls, Co-WIAC Coach of the Year
Bill Kangas, Williams, NESCAC Coach of the Year
Bill O'Neill, Salem State, MASCAC Coach of the Year
Chris Schultz, Geneseo, SUNYAC Coach of the Year, NCAA Semi-Finalist*
Mark Taylor, Hobart, ECAC West Coach of the Year
R.J. Tolan, Endicott, ECAC Northeast Coach of the Year
* Past Jeremiah Award Winner

Previous Winners of the Edward Jeremiah Award
(Division III Coach of the Year)
1970 Sid Watson, Bowdoin   1993 Joe Baldarotta, WI-Stevens Point
1971 Sid Watson, Bowdoin   1994 Jeff Meredith, Fredonia
1972 Jack Canniff, Massachusetts   1995 Bill Beaney, Middlebury
1973 Jim Cross, Vermont   1996 Dean Talafous, WI-River Falls
1974 Barry Urbanski, Boston State   1997 Mike McShane, Norwich
1975 Wendall Forbes, Middlebury   1998 Mike Schwartz, Augsburg
1976 Don Roberts, Gustavus Adolphus   1999 Mike McShane, Norwich
1977 Bill Riley, Jr., Lowell   2000 Mike McShane, Norwich
1978 Sid Watson, Bowdoin   2001 Wayne Wilson, RIT
1979 Don Brose, Mankato State   2002 Dan Stauber, WI-Superior
1980 Steve Stirling, Babson   2003 George Roll, Oswego State
1981 Herb Hammond, Plattsburgh State   2004 Bill Beaney, Middlebury
1982 Steve Stirling, Babson   2005 Terry Skrypek, St. Thomas
1983 Mike Gibbons, Bemidji State   2006 Bill Beaney, Middlebury
  Peter Van Buskirk, Holy Cross   2007 Ed Gosek, Oswego State
1984 Bob Peters, Bemidji State   2008 Tim Coghlin, St. Norbert College
1985 Rob Riley, Babson   2009 Dominick Dawes, Neumann College
1986 Terry Meagher, Bowdoin   2010 Mike McShane, Norwich
1987 Tony Mariano, Norwich   2011 Tim Coghlin, St. Norbert College
1988 Glenn Thomaris, Elmira   2012 Jack Arena, Amherst College
1989 Terry Meagher, Bowdoin   2013 Matt Loen, UW-Eau Claire
1990 Bill Beaney, Middlebury   2014 Chris Schultz, Geneseo
1991 Glenn Thomaris, Elmira   2015 Jack Arena, Amherst College
1992 Bruce Marshall, Connecticut